Top 5 Wednesday: Books of 2016 Part 2

best books of 2016This past year I managed to read a total of 13 books and thanks to my rating I had already determined the five books I enjoyed the most and today I am sharing them with you. This is in no particular order because i honestly couldn’t choose if you made me – they were all great and more than deserve to be on this list!
a-torch

Up first on my list of favorite reads of 2016 is A Torch Against The Night, the sequel to An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. After having finished An Ember In The Ashes in 2015 I was left wanting more and I am more than happy to say that I got everything I wanted and then some! This book was so fast paced – at times I felt like I had trouble breathing!

winterUp next we have the conclusion to Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles in the form of Winter. This was my longest book of the year at over 800 pages and I enjoyed all of it. Queen Levana was her crazy self (according to my limited reading updates on Goodreadds) and made it so easy to despise her – which, probs to Marissa Meyer for that! I love when an author writes a villain so well that you are filled with rage but at the same time you’re really excited because it’s just done so god damn well! 

eos-coverI don’t think anyone who reads YA or is a part of the book community in any shape of form is surprised by the fact that Sarah J. Maas’ fifth book in her Throne Of Glass series – Empire of Storms – made it onto my top 5 reads of 2016 list. This book provided us with great character moments, so, so much action and maybe a few too many and too detailed sex scenes (considering this is supposed to be a Young Adult novel). Things have been set up rather interestingly for the sixth and final book that is coming out in September!

The one thing I was really disappointed about was the absolute lack of Chaol Westfall. We continued to read from multiple points of views in this book and I kept hoping that we would get a Chaol chapter at some point, but that unfortunately never happened. BUT, we are getting a Chaol centered novella (with no title or cover, yet) in June! Hopefully Sarah makes up for it then.

crooked-kingdamAnd once again, to the surprise of absolutely no one who has been keeping an eye on the book community this past year, comes my second to last pick for this list: Leigh Bardugo’s conclusion to the Six Of Crows duology – Crooked Kingdom! This duology is so, so hyped in the book community and that is usually the biggest turn off for me when it comes to picking up a book, but having read Leigh Bardugo’s The Grisha trilogy I knew I enjoyed her writing style. I also wasn’t quite ready to say goodbye to the Grisha verse just yet, so this was perfect.

This duology features the most diverse cast I have read about so far – covering everything from different races, sexualities and mental problems. I just couldn’t put this book down. But once I did, I finally added Leigh Bardugo to my auto-buy list. Yes, that’s how good this duology was.

acomafI know I said at the very beginning of this post that I wouldn’t put these books in any kind of order because I couldn’t even if you made me – but I lied, I am sorry. This was hands down my favorite read of 2016 and it’s also up there with my favorite reads off all time: A Court Of Mist And Fury, the sequel to the A Court Of Thorns And Roses trilogy/series by Sarah J. Maas.

A Court Of Thorns And Roses was a good book and I thought I had decided on which characters and relationships I am rooting for and then the events of the first book spilled over into A Court Of Mist And Fury and my entire view of characters and ships was flipped up side down and I have finally found my way in this series. The world got broaded and we visit the most beautiful place and we are introduced to this amazing cast of side characters that I couldn’t get enough of. My copy of ACOMAF is full of little sticky notes marking scenes, dialogue and tid bits of great content – I had to actually include a sheet of paper that includes all the different types of sticky notes to tell me which symbolizes what.

The last third of the book was just too much to handle and than we get to the end and that god damn cliffhanger that had me so, so angry and actually yelling at characters. This book was everything I could have asked for and then some. Is it the 2nd May yet? I need A Court Of Wings And Ruin right. now. The wait has been killing me!

Make sure to let us know what your favorite reads of 2016 were! Do you agree with what we’ve listed in our posts? Did we miss out on a book that should absolutely be on our list? Let us know!

Leave a Reply

