Series I’ve Completed (Part 1)

series ive completedI have recently started watching a lot more booktube videos again and I noticed myself gravitating towards videos about series that people had finished (especially when I was watching someone I had never seen a video by before) and I started thinking about why I was so interested in these type of videos. The answer?

It gives you an overview of what someone has read before and what kind of series/trilogies they really enjoyed and you can compare your taste to their’s and decide if you want to know more about them and what they enjoy reading. So I figured for you guys to know what kind of books I really enjoyed reading, I would do a 10 Series I Have Completed post! You might have realized by now that I trouble ranking books, so we’re going in alphabetical order today!

bloodlines

Bloodlines, Richelle Mead‘s spinoff series of Vampire Academy, follows the characters Sydney Sage and Adrian Ivashkov as they go on a mission to protect and hide a moroi at a human boarding school in Palm Springs (I am purposefully keeping this as vage as I can so I don’t spoil anything Vampire Academy related). After finishing reading Vampire Academy I was head over heels in love with Adrian and when I knew that we were getting a spinoff series featuring him as one of the characters? I was over the moon! And god, did this series not disappoint me!

six-of-crows

Six Of Crows, Leigh Bardugo‘s newest release set in the same world as The Grisha Trilogy, tells the story of a cast of six diverse characters who go on an impossible heist together, we get to see each of them shine in their different areas of expertice and witness their relationships develop and change over the entirety of this duology. The characters are well fleshed out, have their own motives for doing and believing the things they do and that was really beautiful to see. After reading this duology Leigh has definitely made it onto my auto-buy authors list – which is very short.

As a bit of a sidenote: you don’t have to read the Grisha Trilogy before throwing yourself into this adventure, but I would recommend it, because you might get spoiled for certain things that happened in the Grisha Trilogy otherwise.

the-bronze-horseman

The Bronze Horseman trilogy by Paullina Simons is set in Russia just before World War II starts and spans Tatiana and Alexander’s entire life and everything they endure during those years. This story of love and loss is set in the most beautiful places throughout Russia and has me ready to drop everything and travel to all the places mentioned in this book. And to contrast the beauty of the story there is World War II happening all around them and draging everyone down with it.

This trilogy – just like The Grisha Trilogy – also has a special place in my heart because of it’s setting in Russia. I was born there and spent the first almost 6 years of my life living in a small village near Omsk before we moved to Germany. And even though I don’t agree with the political things going on in Russia, the country and the beauty it has to offer in stories is still very dear to my heart.

the-hunger-games

I don’t think I need to tell any of you guys what The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is all about, so instead I will talk about what this trilogy meant to me. If I remember correctly, this was the first book I ever read in English (excluding books I had to read for class) and also my first glance into dystopian novels – I basically fell down a dystopian shaped hole after and didn’t read anything else for quite a while! This was also the book that made me realize I could read books in English and understand what was going on entirely and I am forever thankful for that. I can’t imagine how different my reading would be if I hadn’t read The Hunger Games.

the-infernal-devices

The Infernal Devices – a prequel trilogy to Cassandra Clare‘s The Mortal Instruments series, is set in the London of 1878 and follows Shadowhunters Tessa, Will and Jem as they try to defeat the Pandemonium Club. Oh this trilogy! It broke my heart and at the same time put it back together and I spent so much time laughing and crying with the characters and enjoying the ride that this trilogy took me on – even more so when I re-read it last year.

The Infernal Devices features the only love triangle I have come across so far that doesn’t make me roll my eyes and hate the triangle. I was so in love with everyone involved in it and I felt with Tessa and the boys through all the ups and down! It was truely beautiful!

What have been some of your favorite series that you’ve finished so far? Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned in this post? If yes, what did you think? Let us know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

