Wrap Up: January 2017

january wrap up2017 has definitely started off pretty nicely when it comes to my reading and also my reading challenge on Goodreads! I read a total of four books during the month of January and am currently 2 books ahead of schedule for the challenge. Which is a nice thing to see, takes the pressure off of reading something immediately (even though I have been staring at my copy of Caraval ever since it arrived on the 27th!). But enough of that, let’s get into the four books I read this month!

Up first was one of my most anticipated releases of 2016: Heartless by Marissa Meyer! I have been a fan of Marissa Meyer’s writing for quite a while now after being introduced to her through The Lunar Chronicles (which I loved) and Heartless did not disappoint in any way or form overall – I had a few minor problems with the story but they didn’t take away too much from the story. I actually wrote a review for Heartless on my blog which goes into a lot more detail!

25613472By the time I had finished Heartless, one of my anticipated releases for January had been released: A List Of Cages! I don’t jump from one book right into the next, I usually need at least a day in between. But when I finally picked up A List Of Cages I read it in one sitting. Literally. I didn’t do anything for an entire evening/early hours of the night because I was so pulled into the story! I also wrote a review for A List Of Cages on my blog, if you want to read it!

I definitely needed something light hearted and fun after finishing A List Of Cages because it dealt with some difficult topics and I actually ended up binge watching Netflix’ One Day At A Time after I read ALOC and it was exactly what I needed at that point!

city-of-ashes-9781481455978_hrAfter that, I was ready for some more reading and I picked up City Of Ashes and then City Of Glass after. I am currently re-reading the entire The Mortal Instruments series because I often found myself feeling like the Freeform show Shadowhunters was so much better and more inclusive than the books were – which isn’t true for every aspect. I really, really enjoyed City Of Ashes and ended up giving it a 5 star rating, while City Of Glass only got a 3,5 star rating. I am planning on reviewing the first three books of The Mortal Instruments series within the next few days, so you guys can look forward to that!

This completes the list of books I managed to read during the month of January, what are some of the books you have read this month? Are you happy with what you read? What was your favorite book of the month? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

