Why Goodreads’ reread function made me cry

why goodreads made me cryI was just minding my own business, reading through my Twitter feed when I saw Kat of Katytastic tweet about Goodreads finally adding the reread function to their website. Naturally, I got super excited! How long have we been asking and hoping for this? Ages it feels like!

I head over to Goodreads, read their update that explains how this function works and how you can manually mark a book you’ve read multiple times as a reread. Great, I think! Let’s head over and mark some books as reread!

So I start by marking the first three books in The Mortal Instruments and then I head over to The Infernal Devices. This was my first mistake. But things hadn’t escalated quite yet. I click on Clockwork Princess and skim my reading updates to determine when I first read the book – this is my second mistake.

My third mistake? Actually reading the status updates, of course! This trilogy is so near and dear to my heart and I love these characters with everything I have. I cried both times I read this book. And not the cute kind of crying. Oh no! I had waterfalls running down my face! And no matter how many times I think ‘Okay. I’m good. I have dealt with the events of this trilogy!’ something happens that throws me for a loop and I end up sitting in bed, crying at 4AM because of FEELS. So, so, so many feels.

unbenannt3

So there you have it, this is how I ended up crying because Goodreads added the reread function. Now that is a sentence I never saw myself write!

What is a story that has had you crying ugly tears? Do you get to a point of crying while reading? Let me know! Talking about our feelings is supposed to be a good thing, right?

4 thoughts on “Why Goodreads’ reread function made me cry

    1. I actually haven’t listened to it yet! I can’t seem to focus on audiobooks? I am currently about a third of the way through Aristotle And Dante and I feel like I remember nothing about what I heard? Or maybe listening to a story I already know would be a better option to judge if I enjoy this format or not! I will have to try it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

