3 Popular Book Series I Plan On Reading

3 series i plan on readingI was browsing through my amazon wishlist earlier today, looking for a book that sparked my interest and that I wanted to read this month. In doing so, I realized that I had some rather popular books on my wishlist and I thought it would be fun sharing three of them with you guys today!

harry-potter-philosophers-stoneLet’s get the most popular of the three out of the way: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. Yes, I have never read Harry Potter before. I have also never watched a Harry Potter movie out of my own free will. I have seen one of the films on a school trip to a winter/christmas market in 5 or 6th grade (that’s 2001 or 2002 for reference), but I don’t really remember much about it.

I don’t even know how many people have told me to read Harry Potter since I have started reading, but it just never truly sparked my interest. A friend of mine during high school would regularly re-read the entire series every couple of months and it almost felt like whenever I would ask her what she was reading, it would be Harry Potter. There is obviously a lot of hype surrounding this series (both books and movies, I feel like) which is usually a bit of a turn off for me, because I get worried that I won’t like the book as much as everyone else does/did. But I wanna give it a go this year! Someone make sure to hold me accountable for it!

A Darker Shade final for IreneUp next is A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab. Victoria Schwab seems to be a really loved author and so many people have nothing but great things to say about her books. Whether it’s this trilogy (which is ending with the release of A Conjuring of Light this month), her Monsters of Verity Duology or Vicious.

I haven’t read any of Victoria’s books before or many books about traveling between different universes for that matter so this should be fun!

Amazon luckily does offer a bit of a preview of this book, so I made sure to read a litltle bit to see if I enjoyed Victoria’s writing style – which is a really important deciding factor – and I did. Let’s hope I’ll end up liking this book – and can marathon the rest of the trilogy right after I finish reading A Darker Shade of Magic! And if you’ve been looking at this trilogy from a far, thinking about when to start reading it, I think now would be perfect! As I mentioned in my February releases, the last book comes out February 21st! 

red-rising-coverThe last book on my list is almost purely on here because I have developed a little crush on the author over the past year or so. The book I’m referring to is Red Rising by the very handsome and (from what I’ve gathered from interviews/signings I’ve seen on YouTube) very lovely Pierce Brown! I also don’t really read many books by male authors (I’ve only read James Dashner and John Green before) or with male protagnists, so this will be first of many and I’m excited!

People who have read and enjoyed similar books as me, really liked this trilogy and talk very positively about it.

It’s been bugging me that my love for the author is for his looks and charm, rather than his writing and I figured it’s about time to change that! I mean yes, Pierce is a handsome man to look at and he does come off as a really nice guy, but it’s about time to get to know the author and his writing and make up my mind about that part.

Have you read any or all of these books? If so, what did you think about them? Are they living up to the hype and love they get? Please let me know in the comments and remind me to start reading these books if you don’t spot them in my upcoming wrap ups! What are some beloved books or series that you haven’t read yet, but plan on? Let me know!

10 thoughts on “3 Popular Book Series I Plan On Reading

    1. I’ve heard a good deal of people rave about Miss Peregrine’s before, so I might have to add it to my TBR too!

      I’ve actually been THISCLOSE to ordering the A Song Of Ice And Fire boxset but that series is so HUGE and slightly intimidating! But I’ve seen like a season a half or so of the show, plus some key moments of after I stopped watching.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

