Series I’ve Completed (Part 2)

Over all the years that I have been a reader now, I have finished quite a few series and I shared the first half of my top 10 last month and now we are onto part 2! These are in continued alphabetical order – I have mentioned my difficulties with putting books in order in previous posts.

the-lunar-chronicles

First on today’s list we have The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer! I actually also read the novella Fairest (which is an origin type of story for Queen Levana) but I haven’t read Stars Above or any of the other novellas or short stories that go with the series. This was actually the series that introduced me to Marissa’s writing and I have since re-read at least the first two books and it made me realize how much I love this series and it’s characters! I didn’t know I was a fan of fairytale retellings until I read these books! I mean, who wouldn’t love a spin on Cinderella in which Cinderella is a cyborg?

the-mortal-instruments

Cassandra Clare‘s The Mortal Instruments series is probably a given on a lost of people’s lists of favorite series they have read, and it most definitely has a spot on mine! I first read this series in late 2012 (excluding COFH which I read when it was released) and only recently decided to re-read the series shortly before season 2 of Shadowhunters started airing and I have been loving it – for the most part. There are definitely things about some of the characters I don’t enjoy (looking at Clary and Isabelle’s relationship in particular here).

The first book in The Mortal Instruments series, City of Bones, follows Clary as she is thrown into a world full of mysterious creatures she has heard about in stories. Stories that were supposed to be fictional. But what Clary witnesses on the streets of New York City is anything but fictional. Shadowhunters, Demons, Vampires and Warlocks soon become very real parts of Clary’s every day life as she learns to navigate the Shadowworld with the help of Jace, Alec and Isabelle and her best friend Simon.

the-raven-cycle

The hype and love that Maggie Stiefvater‘s The Raven Cycle gets was probably one of the reasons why I picked The Raven Boys up that very first time and then almost dropped it about 100 pages into the book because I just could. not. get. into. the. story. I think I actually got through the book on my second try and then I loved the series. I adore these characters so, so much and I think Ronan quickly became one of favorites (which is also why I am super excited that Maggie is bringing out a Ronan centric trilogy!!). I do admit, the story and writing takes getting used to, but once you’re in there? You’re in for good!

All her life, Blue has been told her kiss would kill her true love. Blue never thought this would turn into a problem – until she meets Gansey, Ronan, Noah and Adam: the Raven Boys. The first time Blue lays eyes on Gansey is on St. Mark’s Eve, at a churchyard as she and her mother wait for the spirits of the soon-to-be-dead to pass by them – Gansey is one of them. 

the-winners-trilogy

Oh the covers on this trilogy! I probably would not have picked up Marie Rutkoski‘s The Winner’s Trilogy because I expected a great story. I would have picked it up for some really, really pretty covers and then I would’ve been positively surprised by how great the story actually is too! The only thing I seemed not to like (according to my limited Goodreads updates) is the lack of communication between characters. But I feel like that is almost a given and I have come to expect it.

Kestrel, a general’s daughter has two choices: join the military or get married. Kestrel? has different plans! Living in a world ruled by war, the conquered are enslaved and sold at auctions. Kestrel comes by one of these auctions one day and finds a kindred sprit in the slave Arin who she ends up buying- with unexpected consequences.

vampire-academy

My sweet, sweet Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead! This series has such a special place in my heart for introducing me to kick ass female characters, great female friendships and my two loves Dimitri Belikov and Adrian Ivashkov (my heart was so happy when I got an entire series following Adrian in Bloodlines)! I’ve mentioned in my previous post that I love anything related to Russia and here we have Dimitri, our Russian ‘comrade‘ as Rose refers to him!

Leave a Reply

