Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Say it loud! (19)Since I’m a huge fan of Harry Potter and have been for years now I thought I would review the books in the series I’ve read so far! Let’s get into it!

He lives with the Dursley’s who are his mom’s sisters’ family. He’s brought there because they are muggles (people who can’t do any magic) and the only relatives he has left after his parents died. Dumbledore (the head of Hogwarts) brings him there to live until he’s old enough to go to Hogwarts.

Even with just watching the movies I’ve never liked the Dursley’s and the way they treated Harry over the years (It only get’s worse as time goes on). But since the Dursley’s despise anything that even remotely has to do with magic – they hate him out of principle which just reminds me of real life once again – the idea that just because something or someone is different or even anything that we haven’t seen or heard before doesn’t mean we can’t be welcoming or accepting of it.

But when he gets picked up by Hagrid his life is about to change forever. Harry meets Ron and Hermione – who are also my favorite characters in this series. Those three are such a good trio! They go through so much together and learn from each other in ways that they probably never thought they would.

When Harry gets to Hogwarts he doesn’t have an easy start. What with people calling him names and of course Draco Malfoy being petty towards him on a level that really continued to annoy me. I understand that Draco has a father who literally allied himself with Voldemort but that’s no reason for Draco to treat Harry like he does. But Harry has Ron and Hermione to support him which makes me feel all warm because they understand what he’s been through, the mental abuse he’s had to deal with since his parents died especially with the Dursleys treating him like an object to pass around. I have a huge amount of respect for him, tbh.

Then we have Snape. Who hates Harry basically just out of principle. I won’t get into the reason why in this review because this is just the beginning of the Story and there is so much more that happens between him and Harry. Let’s just say I’m not the biggest fan of Snape in the books. I actually enjoy him more in the Movies.

As you all (most likely) know this is the book where Harry first meets Voldemort/Tom Riddle (A wizard who turned evil practicing dark magic & who also killed Harry’s parents which left a mark/scar on Harry’s forehead – that’s basically his connection to Harry). I find their dynamic very interesting because it reminds me of this idea of what is really good? What is really evil? Can there be a mixture of both?

Voldemort is interesting to me because he doesn’t have the ability to feel empathy, love or compassion – all he feels is anger, hatred, and disgust. He loves inflicting pain on others, loves watching their light leave their eyes – I’ve always considered him to be a sadist because he thrives on pain and sadness. That’s why he does the things he does. Don’t get me wrong I never liked him but he’s a good villain and in this story, it really works.

This reminds me of this quote from Dumbledore:

“Call him Voldemort, Harry. Always use the proper name for things. Fear of a name increases fear of the thing itself.”

Since I’m sharing quotes here are some of my favorites from this book:

“The Truth” Dumbledore sighed. “It is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution.”

“As much money and life as you could want! The two things most human beings would choose above all – the trouble is, humans do have a knack of choosing precisely those things that are worst for them.”

“Always the innocent are the first victims, so it has been for ages past, so it is now.”

“To the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure.”

Before going into this book I knew what happens in it but reading about rather than watching the movie gives you a much closer look into Harry’s mind and what he goes through in much more detail, than the movies ever captured. Although I love them as well.

Obviously, this one got 5 stars.

Who is your favorite character in this series? What’s your opinion on the Dursley’s? Share your thoughts in the comments! I would love to talk all things Harry Potter with you guys!

 

One thought on “Review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

