Top 5 Wednesday: Books To Get You Out Of A Reading Slump

This week’s topic for Top 5 Wednesday is Books To Get You Out Of A Reading Slump! I don’t think I’ve been in many reading slumps before (I vividly remember one, after I finished the Unearthly Trilogy by Cynthia Hand) and I can’t remember if the books I picked up during that time helped me get over the slump I was in. Which is why I decided to suggest 5 books I really love and I think will get you going again!

Clockwork Angel

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.”

cofFirst on my list for today is Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, book one in The Infernal Devices Trilogy! I was originally going to go with Clockwork Princess (I think we’ve established how much I love it by now), but that would mean you would have had to have read the first two books in the trilogy and that’s probably not true for everyone. So! We’re going with Clockwork Angel, which is still great and it introduces you to a world that is hopefully going to suck you right in and not let you leave until you turn that final page of Clockwork Princess (and maybe cry ugly tears, like I do every time)!

Will rolled up his sleeves. “We’ll probably have to knock down the door–”
“Or,” said Jem, reaching out and giving the knob a twist, “not.”
The door swung open onto a rectangle of darkness.
“Now, that’s simply laziness,” said Will.

If you’re worried that you might not like it or if you have heard that Cassandra Clare‘s writing isn’t the best: she has improved quite a bit as an author by this point in her publishing history! You should definitely give it at least a try! This book/trilogy might be exactly what you’ve been looking for to get you out of that slump of your’s!

A Court Of Mist And Fury

I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal.
I was a survivor, and I was strong.
I would not be weak, or helpless again
I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.

cofNext, we have Sarah J. MaasA Court Of Mist And Fury, book two in the A Court Of Thorns And Roses Trilogy/Series. While I didn’t want to go with book three in my previous suggestion, I am definitely going with book two for this one. ACOMAF is just a much better story than ACOTAR! I obviously read the first book too and I thought I loved it – until A Court Of Mist And Fury was released and I read it. The world building is stunning (I want to switch places with Feyre for a couple of days!), the cast of ‘side’ characters is everything (I do still love my boy Lucien though, I have hope for him yet) and the relationship that is being formed here is hands down my favorite yet. And then you have the ending! I was yelling at my book the entire time I was reading it! I hope you don’t mind reading rather explicit sex scenes though, because we do have a couple of those in here!

And I realized—I realized how badly I’d been treated before, if my standards had become so low. If the freedom I’d been granted felt like a privilege and not an inherent right.

Heartless

cofI feel like Alice In Wonderland is something a good amount of people enjoy and if you are one of those people and you are burried deep in a reading slump, this might be just what you are looking for! Heartless by Marissa Meyer tells the origin story of the Queen Of Hearts and it was such a fun experience and the writing, as always with Meyer, was so, so good! The characters pull you into their world (I am still so in love with the tea party) and you can’t help but turning page after page! I had a few small problems with this book (mostly due to me never having read Alice before) and I discussed them in my review, in case you want to read more about this book! But I still highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone!

But hoping,” he said, “is how the impossible can be possible after all.

Cress

cofI hadn’t even realized that I put two Marissa Meyer books on this list, but they are both definitely great reads and you wouldn’t be picking the wrong one no matter which one you went for! Cress, book three in Marissa Meyer‘s The Lunar Chronicles series, is on here because Cress as a character was so much fun to read about and her dynamic with Captain Thorne was hilarious! I can’t really say much about the plot lines in this book without spoiling the first two books. I guess you will just have to take me at my word here!

“Captain?”
“Yeah?”
“Do you think it was destiny that brought us together?”
He squinted and, after a thoughtful moment, shook his head. “No. I’m pretty sure it was Cinder.”

Six Of Crows

cofLast, but certainly not least, is Six Of Crows, book one in the Six Of Crows duology, by Leigh Bardugo! What better way to get you out of a reading slump than going on an impossible heist with some of the most diverse and awesome characters out there right now? I enjoyed Leigh’s writing and story telling in The Grisha Trilogy, but she has stepped up so much in Six Of Crows that I had to add her to my auto-buy authors list!

Kaz leaned back. “What’s the easiest way to steal a man’s wallet?”
“Knife to the throat?” asked Inej.
“Gun to the back?” said Jesper.
“Poison in his cup?” suggested Nina.
“You’re all horrible,” said Matthias.

One of my favorite things about this duology was the dynamic between all of the characters – I usually don’t laugh out loud while reading, but I did a few times throughout both books and how could you not?

Jesper knocking his head against the hull and cast his eyes heavenward. “Fine. But if Pekka Rollins kills us all, I’m going to get Wylan’s ghost to teach my ghost how to play the flute just so that I can annoy the hell out of your ghost.”

Brekker’s lips quirked. “I’ll just hire Matthias’ ghost to kick your ghost’s ass.”

“My ghost won’t associate with your ghost,” Matthias said primly, and then wondered if the sea air was rotting his brain.

If you have found yourself deep into a reading slump, I hope you pick up one of these books and pull yourself out of said slump! There is nothing fun about wanting to read but being unable to find the right book, right?

In case I ever find myself in a reading slump again, what is your top pick? Please let me know (my TBR isn’t long enough yet :P) and link to your posts for this week’s T5W in the comments below if you want to!

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books To Get You Out Of A Reading Slump

    • Swetlana says:

      I’m really sorry for getting to your comment so late, but for some reason it ended up in the spam folder and I hadn’t seen it until now! 😦

      You should absolutely get to Heartless as soon as possible! It was a really great read and Marissa Meyer just once again does what she does best in this book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

