Review: Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Say it loud! (17)I’ve been hearing so many great things about this book that I just had to pick it up after I had finished Empire Of Storms (here’s a link to that review). I was waiting for the sequel Crooked Kingdom to be released so that once I finish SOC that I can read that one right off the bat.

The first thing I want to talk about is how Leigh did such a great job at writing the different dynamics between the characters. They’re all so different but that’s what makes them so interesting. As the story goes on they grow closer and learn a lot more about each other than they did before going on this heist.

I’m not going to lie, it took me a little bit of time to get into it because of all of the different names of the places that we visit throughout this book! Pretty sure I mispronounced so many names in my head whilst reading.

map1We start off meeting all of the characters learning about their lifes, what they do for a living, where they came from and how they got to where they are. Then Kaz gets offered to try and find Bo Yul-Bayur (a scientist who created the formular for a drug for Grisha which gives them immense power but they can get addicted quite quickly. It’s very deadly) and get a huge amount of money in return.

For that they have to go The Ice Court, which is sort of the Headquarters for the Drüskelle (Fjerdans), and very high on security. It seems like such an insane location! I would love to see it myself tbh. It must look amazing.

What I loved most about this book is how these characters came together to fight for the same thing and help each other get there. That unity that they formed brought them closer together than ever and I truly think that’s going to evolve in Crooked Kingdom, which I can’t wait to read next.

pic2

My favorite dynamic is definitely Kaz/Inej. They have such a great understanding of each other. Kaz isn’t very keen on showing his emotions around/towards Inej but as time goes on he realizes how important she is to him, how much he needs her in his life, wether or not they could have a relationship one day. Inej knows that Kaz is all about getting the job done because ever since his brother Jordie died, he had to keep fighting every single day, to survive, to find porpuse, to find something worth living for. I think with Inej he may have found a piece of it.

I loved how complicated but beautiful Matthias’s relationship with Nina is. They have relied on each other to survive for so long but she had to make a choice and it tore them apart until it brought them even closer. The flashbacks of the first time they met, the betrayal and everything that happened between them before were so great! I hope there’s more in the sequel.

I’d love to see Jesper/Wylan evolve further. Getting to know each other better and maybe starting a potential relationship which I’m definitely on board with! They come from such different walks of life to see them come together in a way is great. I’m looking forward to see how their relationship develops.

The way in which Leigh build this world made me love it even more. I think my favorite location is either The Ice Court or Ketterdam. Also the writing flows together so nicely it’s not too complicated and the dialouge in this book is gold!

Here are some of my favorite quotes;

“The heart is an arrow. It demands aim to land true.”

“It’s not natural for women to fight.”
“It’s not natural for someone to be as stupid as he is tall, and yet there you stand.”

“What do you want then?”
The old answers came easily to mind. Money. Vengeance. Jordie’s voice in my head silenced forever. But a different reply roared to life inside him, loud, insistent, and unwelcome. You, Inej. You.

“Inej had once offered to teach him how to fall. “The trick is not getting knocked down,” he’d told her with a laugh. “No, Kaz,” she’d said, “the trick is in getting back up.”

Something I want to touch on is the idea that the Fjerdans are a like a government leading an orginazation, executing anyone they deem impure and a threat to the people, when they pose as a threat to so many as well. I kinda like that contrast. It’s interesting to think about.

After reading this book I don’t know why I didn’t read it sooner tbh.

Let me know what you thought of this book (if you’ve read it) below in the comments. Feel free to share a link to your review as well.

5 thoughts on “Review: Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I loved your review! I really enjoy reading reviews of books I’ve read as well to see how our opinions differ. It’s always entertaining. For instance, I HATED this book. Took me a week to read the darn thing because I could only push through a couple pages at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find it interesting to see how a book can be viewed from so many different perspectives and be experienced differently. It took me a bit to get used to everyone’s names and the places but once I did I just got attached to the characters immediately. I also read your review and really liked it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

