New Releases: March 2017

The last bunch of February releases (I’ve talked about my picks a few weeks ago too!) hit the shelves today and so it’s about time we talk about March releases! I’ve compiled a list of four books that have sparked my interest, so let’s get started!

Strange The Dreamer

strangethedreamer-cover-copyUp first we have Laini Taylor‘s (author of the Daughter Of Smoke & Bone trilogy) newest release: Strange The Dreamer! I haven’t read a book by Laini before, but I have heard so many people praise her previous releases, that I wanted to include this one! This book hits shelves on March 28th!

Goodreads’ synopsis: 

Strange the Dreamer is the story of:

the aftermath of a war between gods and men
a mysterious city stripped of its name
a mythic hero with blood on his hands
a young librarian with a singular dream
a girl every bit as perilous as she is imperiled
alchemy and blood candy, nightmares and godspawn, moths and monsters, friendship and treachery, love and carnage.

Welcome to Weep.

You’re Welcome Universe

ywu_cover-1000x1455In Whitney Gardner‘s You’re Welcome Universe our main protagonist Julia finds a slur about her best friend at the back of The Kingston School for the Deaf, her best friend tells on Julia, her mothers send her off to a new school in the suburbs where she is the only deaf student. Julia ends up leaving graffiti around town and is pulled into a graffiti war with another artist, who constantly sprays over her artwork – to improve it or to show off their own talent.

I have never read a book about a deaf main character or anything about graffiti (there are actual graffitis included in the book!), so I’m really excited to see how this story plays out! You’re Welcome Universe hits shelves on March 7th!

Goodbye Days

e29c8700-2a5e-0134-0657-062f3a35be5fGoodbye Days by Jeff Zentner made it’s way onto my list for this month because it deals with the aftermath of texting while driving. Carver Briggs never thought a simple text message could have such catastrophical consequences until his three best friends die in a crash because of it. Blake’s grandmother asks Carver to help remember her grandson with a Goodbye Day which turns into something Carver does with the loved one of his other friends too. Forgiveness isn’t easily given and Carver’s own feelings of guilt and despair are threatening to pull him under. This book hits shelves on March 7th!

I think it’s really important that we think about the consequences a simple and quick text message can have. You don’t have to look at your phone for long – even a single second that you’re eyes aren’t on the road ahead of you is too long. Things can happen so quickly and you won’t have a chance to react properly while your eyes are glued to your phone.

The Bone Witch

bonewitchIn Rin Chupeco‘s The Bone Witch we follow Tea in the aftermath of accidently raising her brother from the dead and as she realizes that she is different from the other witches in her family. She’s a bone witch: a witch with a gift for necromancy. Tea ends up being ostracized by her community and finds a home with an older bone witch who takes Tea and her brother in and brings them to a different land where Tea can train. Soon dark forces are rising, forcing Tea to overcome her obstacles and make a powerful choice. The Bone Witch hits shelves on March 7th!

These were the books that sparked my interest and that I hope to get to next month – but then again, let’s be real for a second: I still haven’t read all the books I had on my January or February releases post. So these might have to wait a bit longer, but I do want to get to them. What are some of the books that you are looking forward to this month? Have I missed some really great one (I’m sure I have)? Please let me know in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “New Releases: March 2017

  1. Puput @ Sparkling Letters says:

    Ohhh I can’t wait for Goodbye Days!! The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner is one of my most favorite contemporary so I’m really looking forward to this and also yes to Strange the Dreamers. Laini Taylor’s writing in DOSB was so eloquent I loved it ❤ I read the ARC of You're Welcome Universe and enjoyed it! My review will be up tomorrow if you're interested 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Swetlana says:

      Ah, that sounds very promising for Goodbye Days and Strange the Drramer! I hope I will have a better reading month in March and pick up more books!

      I might read it tomorrow then! I usually try to stay away from reviews before I finish the book, but it might just be the encouragement that I need to really pick this book up as soon as possible!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

