Down The TBR Hole #1

I have seen Nikki over at The Night Is Dark And Full Books do this weekly post, where she looks at her TBR and decides which books to take off of it. This meme is hosted weekly by Lia over at Lost In A Story!

It seemed like I kept seeing this meme more often once I realized it was something people did and I figured I would start doing this too! My Goodreads TBR shelf currently has 73 books on it and some have been on there since August ’12! I think it’s time to evaluate some of those books and make room for more exciting books!

How this meme works is: you sort the books on your TBR by date added, starting with the ones that’ve been on there the longest and then each week you pick 5 (or more, it’s up to you) books and decide which books you want to keep and which books are going off your TBR!

1

Book #1: Anna And The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna And The French Kiss sounds like a fun and quick read, so I am going to keep it for the time being! I also haven’t read any Stephanie Perkins before and since I want to branch out and read more new to me authors this year, I am keeping this book! 

Book #2: Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

I added Shiver before I ever read any of Maggie’s other book and when I was actually interested in reading about wolves and stuff like that, but I have definitely grown out of that, so I’m sorry Maggie, but this book is going!

Book #3: Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Nope. The summary for Uglies sounds like nothing I would enjoy reading about at this current point in my life, so this book is going too!

2

Book #4: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I am not sure what I want to do with The Book Thief! I started reading this book in October 2013 and got about 200 pages in, before I put it down and never picked it back up again. But the summary sounds really intriguing and I definitely want to finish it someday. So… I am keeping this book for now!

Book #5: The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

The summary for The Iron King sounds kind of meh to me right now and I don’t feel any need to actually pick this book up any time soon, so this book is going! 

This now leaves me with a total of 70 books on my Goodreads TBR and I think that number is going to get even smaller once I continue doing this! I can’t wait to see how many books are going to be left on my TBR shelf once I am all done! Check back in next Sunday for part 2! 

9 thoughts on “Down The TBR Hole #1

  1. Nikki @TheNightIsDarkAndFullOfBooks says:

    Thanks for also mentioning me! That’s so nice of you 🙂 I love these types of posts! They’re both fun to make and to read. I love seeing what’s on other people’s TBR and seeing which books people no longer have interest in. Getting rid of 3 out of 5 books is impressive!

    Like

    • Swetlana says:

      No need to thank me! I saw it on your blog and liked the idea, seemed only fair, and also the right thing, to mention you and your post! 🙂

      I’ve come to really like seeing these posts too and ever since I actively noticed it on your blog, I seem to see them pop up more often!

      I didn’t expect to cut that many in my first post, but some of them have been on my TBR for YEARS and I never took a second look at them after adding them. I’m curious to see how many books I’ll have left once I reach the end of my TBR!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lia says:

    Ahh you’re letting Shiver go! It hurts my heart a little, it’s one of my faves, but I understand and respect your opinion 😛
    I’m happy you joined!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Swetlana says:

      She must definitely be doing something right, I doubt she would have as many books out if she wasn’t a good author!

      I was definitely very excited about the book and synopsis when I first added the book, but my tastes have changed apparently.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

