Down the TBR hole #1

Nikki over at thenightisdarkandfullofbooks does this weekly meme where she looks at her TBR and decides which books to take off, to make room for new books and reduce the pressure of reading so many books. It’s hosted by Lia at imaginaryplacesonpaper

My goodreads to read shelf has over 200 books on it, so I’m gonna be doing this for a while haha! I just keep adding any book I have interest in and then I end up with so many. It’s a never ending cycle but I love books so, I don’t mind.

So, this meme goes like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

(note: I’m gonna do series in 1 because that way I can reduce my tbr quicker!)

BOOK #1 The Hunger Games (Trilogy) by Suzanne Collins

2767052

It’s a very popular book series/trilogy and a lot of people recommend it and I have wanted to read it for so long but never got around to, so, I’m keeping it for now.

BOOK #2 The Perks of being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

22628

This was turned into a movie starring Emma Watson and Nina Dobrev, so that’s pretty cool but for now I’m not too keen on reading it. It has to go.

BOOK #3 Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

10429045

Based on the synopsis alone I’m keeping it! The premise of somone’s touch being lethal really intrigues me.

BOOK #4 Truly Madly Deadly by Hannah Jayne

15942674

I added this book onto my TBR in 2014 and now looking back at the synopsis I’m not interested in reading it any time soon!

BOOK #5 Looking for Alaska by John Green

99561

I actually own this book and I’m not going to be reading it soon-ish but since I really loved The Fault In Our Stars which is probably John’s most popular book so far, Looking for Alaska can stay for now. I might change my mind in the future but I do intend on reading books I own, since that’s what I buy them for.

This leaves me with 196 books on my TBR. Next week we’re gonna be covering the next 5 so get excited! I love doing memes like this and it helps me reevaluate what books I actually want to read vs. what only served as curiosity rather than actual interest.

 

3 thoughts on “Down the TBR hole #1

Leave a Reply

