Review: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

As I mentioned in my review of book #1 in this series that I would review the books I have read so far. HP is so near and dear to my heart it’s a lot of fun writing these reviews.

9781408855669

The Dursleys were so mean and hideous that summer that all Harry Potter wanted was to get back to the Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he’s packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.

My rating: 5 Stars.

Plot:

It continues after the events of the first book “Sorcerer’s/Philosopher’s Stone” as Harry returns back to Hogwarts a lot of things go wrong for him and his friends Ron and Hermione. As students are being found having been turned into stone everyone in the school starts to suspect Harry is the one behind it.

Harry has to go and figure out how to stop it and save other students from getting hurt with help from Ron and Hermione.

We also get to see more of their life at Hogwarts like what subjects they have in the second year and what the lessons with each teacher are like.

idkpart100

Harry’s journey 

He goes through a lot in this book, dealing with the other students suspecting him being the one who opened the chamber, Snape continuously taunting him and punishing him for things he didn’t know, as usual.

The funniest moment will always be when Ron and his brothers came to get Harry with the flying car from his window which later on crashed into Snape’s tree.

As the year goes on they are greeted by a new Defence against the Dark Arts teacher. The new teacher is a well-known author in the wizarding world who Hermione idolizes but Harry and Ron aren’t so sure about him.

I feel like Harry grows a lot as a character in this book getting braver and knowing what’s at stake if Voldemort succeeds with his plan. At the end when he’s in the chamber with Tom Riddle he gets help from the Phoenix in Dumbledore’s office.

Most of the book is from Harry’s perspective and his life at Hogwarts. There isn’t much I can say about Ron and Hermione because they help him and support him but that’s it. I would have loved some chapters in their POV’s.

We got a little more insight into how Voldemort put parts of himself into Harry unknowingly of course, which plays a big part later on in the story.

It’s important to keep in mind with any series that the story needs to develop and sometimes a book ends up as a filler but I think for the story it’s necessary sometimes.

Memorable Quotes:

“It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”

“When in doubt, go to the library.”

“You will also find that help will always be given at Hogwarts to those who ask for it.”

Conclusion:

Overall I really liked this book but to me, it seemed more like a filler to lead up to what happens in book 3, which let me tell you, is a lot. The plot only gets more dangerous and complicated in book #3. I did give it a 5-star rating but if I had to rate it again I’d give it a 4 Star rating.

How did you feel about this book? Let me know your thoughts below! + If you have any suggestions as to how I could improve my reviews please don’t hesitate to leave me some feedback!

Leave a Reply

