Unread On My Shelves

unread on my shelvesTwo weeks ago I realized that I had absolutely no more room left on my shelves. My books were standing in front of other books (and that’s just not going to work!), laying on my bed or standing on top of my shelf on display as a way to have more room. But that didn’t work out for long either, so I had to change things up. And I did. I spend an entire afternoon rearranging my things and ended up emptying another shelf that I could use for my books! 

During that entire process, I also decided to have a look at my books and see which ones I hadn’t read yet. Because I want to make sure I don’t keep buying books left and right without actually reading them. That just seems like a waste of my money to me. So, here are my unread books that are on my shelves right now!

19063The Book Thief

The Book Thief isn’t actually entirely unread – I have started and read about 200 pages of this back when I first picked it up but then I never finished the book; for whatever reason. I can’t even tell you guys if I enjoyed it or not. All I know is that a lot of people really love this book and that it has been on a lot of people’s favorites lists over the years!

 

The Girl At Midnight20345202

I have owned The Girl At Midnight for years now, and I still haven’t gotten around to picking it up and I can’t even tell you why? I might have lost interest over the years but the synopsis still sounds interesting and the element of the story being set in New York is quite intriguing too! Let’s hope I can get to it some time. Or give the book to someone who actually might enjoy reading it!

 

51UNBD3RSTL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_The Bane Chronicles

I must have gotten The Bane Chronicles shortly after I read all of the other Shadowhunters books and needed more of the universe and probably Magnus Bane (I can’t tell you how much I used to love the character back when I first read these books – I don’t remember it). And I did start reading it, actually but I never got past about 50 or so pages which is really sad. I hope that once I finish my re-read of all the books currently released that I will finally get to this novella bind-up and finally read all the great adventures Magnus has been on! And apparently, from what I have gathered, we’re actually also introduced to characters from The Last Hour trilogy (that starts releasing next year, I think) so that should be really interesting!

Tales From The Shadowhunter AcademyTSA_cover

Tales From The Shadowhunter Academy is a fairly new release so I don’t feel too bad about not having read it yet, even though it has been sitting on my shelf for almost two months at this point! I just jumped into different books after I got it in the mail. But as I just said, I want to re-read all the other books before I jump into the novella bind-ups! I also talked about this book to Sandra on Wednesday and we were both kind of wondering how Simon ends up at the Academy after the events of City Of Heavenly Fire and how all of that is going to work out, so I am definitely excited to see what these novella bind-ups tell us about the world Cassandra Clare created!

red-rising-coverRed Rising

Red Rising isn’t a new release, but it is a very recent addition to my bookshelves (as in, within the past month) so I am 100% okay with its current status. I do however really want to read it soon – I have talked about it in both my Three Popular Series I Want To Read and my Top Ten Books On My Spring TBR posts, so we know I want to read it soon(ish)! Also, it’s a Pierce Brown novel and I adore the guy! I need to get to know him as an author too!

A Conjuring Of Light19186075-_sy540_

A Conjuring Of Light is both the newest release and also newest addition to my shelf and I am sure you guys are sick and tired of hearing me talk about how much I want to read this book and how I am in the weirdest slump type of situation right now which is why I haven’t actually picked this book up yet. There. I said it again. But yes, that’s basically all I need to say about ACOL at this point. We’ve talked about it so many times. Just know that it’s on my shelves and it’s unread.

My shelves currently hold a total of 61 books and I haven’t read 6 of them – which isn’t too bad actually! And a number of them are on my Top Ten Books I Want To Read This Spring list so hopefully, that’ll decrease the number too!

How do you go about unread books on your shelves? Do you have a system in place that makes sure you don’t have too many unread books on your shelves? Or do you like having a big variety of unread books to choose from? Let’s discuss in the comments below!

 

19 thoughts on “Unread On My Shelves

  1. Honestly, I don’t really have a system for unread books. I probably need one, though. I’m more like you were, and have books stacked on books, books stacked in front of books, etc etc. 😂 It’s definitely something that I need to work on, though.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I looked at my shelves and just wanted to be able to see all the pretty spines (and some of the covers too) so I knew I had to make a change! And turns out, now I have SO much more space for new books! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I also have a few books on my shelves that I have not yet read. And books that I have started but not finished. What do you do about those, do you just start all over again? I have started reading Vanity Fair about 4 times but remember nothing, I obviously want to finish it so I will have to start again. Once I start things will come back to me and it will be boring lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The only book that has ever happened with was The Book Thief, so when/if I ever go back to it, I will probably have to start reading from the beginning because there is no way I will remember what has happened before – it’s been too long.

      But I think if I had a book that just simply couldn’t hold my attention and I couldn’t get through, I would probably just stop reading it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, definitely not! I think as long as you want to read it you should go for it! There’s never such a thing as something being stupid when it comes to reading and books! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Before I went into this I actually thought that I had a lot more books on there that I hadn’t read before, but I can do with six!

      Maybe you should do a peak and see how much you haven’t read yet! Might be fun – or scary.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m pretty sure I have around a hundred books on my shelves that are unread (I blame Book Outlet), and I’m drowning in them. It’s terrible. I also blame not really having a system to deal with it – I’ve recently started the 1 for 5 book buying ban – I have to read 5 PHYSICAL books that I already own in order to buy one, ahaha. It’s been going okay so far, but let’s see how long it lasts.

    Good luck with your unread pile. The Book Thief and A Conjuring of Lights are both wonderful books, and I really hope you enjoy them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my god that is a huge number of books that you haven’t read yet! I bet it must be exciting to see so many books and all the worlds you could dive into and explore!

      But at least you’re trying to work on buying too many new books! I hope you can manage to decrease your number of unread books in the future! 😀

      Like

  4. I have a stupid number of unread books on my shelves – but I can’t seem to quite buying them. Right now the number is problem in the 80s, but I would really like to get it down to around 20 that way I have a variety to choose from, but not an overwhelming number.

    I also really like the idea of keeping your unread books on a separate shelf, but then I would have series split up, and I think that would drive me crazy. So I just do my best to remember what I’ve read and what I haven’t. I also try to donate unread books that I don’t think I’m every going to read (that opens shelves for more new books! Haha.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, books and deals are such a weak spot for me too! I would buy them all if I could! But then I’m also limited by shelf space and I don’t want to run out again!

      I couldn’t seperate my series either. They all have to be right next to each other and look pretty together! 🙂

      I recently gave a bunch of my books to my cousin when I moved out from home and knew I wouldn’t be able to put the books on shelves nicely. I do still have quite a few in a big bag because I don’t plan on re-reading them anytime soon and they also wouldn’t look as nice with all my other books. I like your way of dealing with unread books though! That way more people get the chance to read books you are no longer interested in. 🙂

      Like

  5. The Book Thief is one of my favorite books of all time. It’s just so beautifully written, and it’s narrated by death. DEATH NARRATES IT, what more can you ask for? READ IT! (pls)
    I am so bad at letting the number of books I have not read pile up on my shelves. It came to the point where I made a SEPARATE shelf on Goodreads for books that I want to read and also already own. Needless to say, I have a book buying problem! I recently decided that I need to cut it out, my bank account can’t handle it haha. I have been trying to abide the rule where I don’t buy a new book until I’ve read 5. I’m not doing great! HALP.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I do remember really enjoying the fact that The Book Thief was narrated by death and it’s most definitely something I have never read before! I will do my best to read this book at some point!

      Haha, I would probably have more of a book buying problem if I didn’t have bills to pay. But what would I do without internet and my phone? I would die of boredom! xD Sacrifices have to be made here.

      That is definitely a great idea! Now you just need the strenght to actually stick to it! I will keep my fingers crossed for you! 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

