5 Book covers with B&W Backgrounds

We came up with this idea the other day where each of us takes 5-10 covers with a certain colored background or people or figures on them. So let’s go!

12930909Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke has a very interesting premise of a romance between the Devil and a girl from a seaside town! I have been fascinated by stories of the Devil ever since I started watching the TV Show Lucifer.

“Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White’s sleepy, seaside town… until River West comes along. River rents the guest house behind Violet’s crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard.

Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something more?”

26074194

 

As I was browsing through Goodreads I stumbled across Queen Of Hearts by Collen Oakes and I had to pick it for this post because I have been a fan of Wonderland (as a world) for quite some time now and Heartless being published only made me want to read more about that world! I also figured Swetlana might enjoy this too.

“This is not the story of the Wonderland we know. Alice has not fallen down a rabbit hole. There is no all-knowing cat with a taunting smile. This is a Wonderland where beneath each smile lies a secret, each tart comes with a demand, and only prisoners tell the truth.”

20734002

After having read Crooked Kingdom, with a character like Inej who has been a part of her family’s acrobatics/circus, the premise of The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore with two performer families competing with one another being enemies makes for a very intresting Story.

“For twenty years, the Palomas and the Corbeaus have been rivals and enemies, locked in an escalating feud for over a generation. Both families make their living as traveling performers in competing shows—the Palomas swimming in mermaid exhibitions, the Corbeaus, former tightrope walkers, performing in the tallest trees they can find.”

28374007

 

I’ve heard so much about Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake and I definitely want to read it. Anything with royalty in it is already a given for me to read! The cover looks really cool with all the crowns too!

“In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. (..) But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.”

27827203

 

Frostblood by Elly Blake has sparked my interest because 1) it has royalty 2) a great premise and 3) great potential for good storytelling and those are things that I love!

“Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.”

 

I have definitely found a couple of more books for my TBR whilst picking these covers which is always good but also bad because my to read shelf seems to pile up and up but I love books so I don’t really mind tbh!

Have you read any of these? If yes, how did you feel about them?

P.S. If you want to do this kind of meme too feel free to link us to your posts I’d love to read them!

4 thoughts on “5 Book covers with B&W Backgrounds

  1. The Weight of Feathers is like one of the BEST BOOKS OF MY LIFE. 😍😍 *flails just thinking about it* Omgg it’s so beautiful (and really nothing like Six of Crows haha just in case you were wondering) and the characters are all amazingly gorgeous things. Also I really want to read Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea because I loved the author’s other book, Wink Poppy Midnight. I hope you get a chance to read some of these soon.🎉🎉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great to hear! Makes me want to read it that much more now 🙂 (I was just thinking bc Inej used to do acrobatics on a thin rope/wire along with her parents) Me too! Although for now my TBR pile is huge haha 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

