The Book Blogger Insider Tag

Last week the lovely Marie over at Drizzle And Hurricane Books tagged me to do The Book Blogger Insider Tag and talk a little about my blogging habits, so that’s what we’re doing today! Again, thank you so much for tagging me in this Marie, it means a lot! 🙂

This tag was originally created by Jamie over at A Little Slice Of Jamie!

The Rules

  • Answer the questions below.
  • Tag at least 5 people.
  • Have fun!

The Questions

1) Where do you typically write your blog posts?

Most of the time I will be sitting in my bed with my laptop in my lap and writing away at blog posts! Some days I decide to spend a bit more time in other rooms in my apartment and I will sit down on the couch and write from there. But usually, it’s my bed.

2) How long does it generally take you to write a book review?

I am trying to think about how long the reviews I’ve written for this blog have taken me on average, but I honestly can’t remember. My latest review for A Conjuring Of Light took me about two hours (start to finish) and I think the other might have taken me about an hour? It usually depends on if I know what I want to write or not. When I have an idea, it’ll take me less time to write. But then I also tend to get rather rambly so that adds time again.

3) When did you start your book blog?

Sandra and I actually started blogging at the very beginning of January (I think it was the 3rd)! I had been thinking about starting a blog again and sharing my love for reading with people but I also knew that I didn’t want to do it by myself. So I asked Sandra and luckily she agreed to do this with me!

4) What is the worst thing about having a book blog in your opinion?

So far, it’s been pretty awesome! I haven’t really found anything that is too bad about blogging. The only thing I can think of is that I almost feel like I should be reading a new book right now so I have something to review for the blog soon but I also know that if I force myself to read I won’t enjoy the book. [Update: since scheduling this post about a week or so ago, I have actually read two books and I just started reading A Conjuring Of Light too, so yay! BTW, I didn’t start reading so I would have something to review, I just felt like it. Well, one book was an eARC but I had that for weeks now and just now decided to actually pick it up.]

5) What is the best thing about having a book blog in your opinion?

I think quite a few of us have answered the same thing here, but: the community! Honestly, everyone I have come across so far has been so nice and willing to talk about books and blogging! I haven’t had really deep and/or personal conversations with people yet, but most of the conversations I’ve had so far are all still pretty new and fresh! It takes time to get to a point where you’re willing to open up about more personal things!

6) What blog post have you had the most fun writing so far?

Hmm, I think I’ll go with my review for A Gathering Of Shadows for this one! I had seen Kristin from SuperSpaceChick recently share how she reviews her books and I really liked her idea and decided to use it for that review and it worked out so well for me! It had me really excited because I had a way to sort my thoughts into different categories which helped the review not being all over the place!

7) What is your favorite type of blog post to write?

As far as favorite posts to write, I have to say it’s either tags that ask more personal questions and give me the chance to introduce myself to our readers more or the quick and at the time really random posts that happen in a spur of the moment type of situations! I still really like my post about crying because Goodreads introduced the re-read option! I wrote that one in a couple of minutes shortly after I finished crying.

8) When do you typically write?

I always write in the evening or at night time. I am lucky that I live on my own and so I could probably write new posts whenever, but I tend to be most productive later in the night! It’s actually almost midnight as I’m typing this and I finished two more posts before I started this one! I always get really excited when I’m on a roll like this and can write, edit and schedule posts for the upcoming week!

9) Do you review every book you read?

Our blog is still really new and I have finished a total of seven books this year and five of them have gotten reviews on the blog: Heartless | A List Of Cages | Caraval | A Darker Shade Of Magic | A Gathering Of Shadows. Look at all those shameless plugs! But I put a lot of work into my reviews so I will obviously shout them out whenever I have the opportunity to (as you might have noticed)!

I don’t know if things will continue this way and if I will be able to review every book I read, but I hope so! It’s nice to be able to look back at what I thought about different books and I’m sure it’ll be even more useful once it comes to picking my favorite reads of the year!

10) How do you write your book reviews? With a cup of coffee or tea? With Netflix? Cuddled with your fur baby?

I am usually in bed, under my covers and just listening to some music while I’m writing reviews. I will forget about any hot drinks I make myself once I really get into writing! Case in point: I made myself a cup of tea earlier before I started writing for the blog and it went completely cold. Luckily it’s a berry tea and still tastes good cold, though!

11) When do you write your book reviews? Right after finishing the book? Two weeks after finishing the book?

Usually, I will try to write the review within days of finishing the book! I recently started to take notes of what I was reading in my bullet journal which helps making my list of things I did and didn’t enjoy once I’m done reading. I tried writing my reviews for books two and three in The Mortal Instruments a few weeks after finishing them and it just didn’t work out for me.

12) How often do you post?

I usually try to post three times a week and Sandra does the same which results in 6 different types of posts a week – sometimes if we have an idea, we’ll put up a seventh post too. Our Get To Know Me: 15 Facts About Me posts (click here for Sandra’s and here for mine) were a spontaneous idea I had on that Saturday! I like being able to just put up a post when I feel like it!

Tags

I hope you guys enjoying this tag and answering some questions about your blogging habits! I am definitely excited to read all about them! 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Book Blogger Insider Tag

  1. Marie says:

    Lovely answers, thank you so much for doing the tag! 🙂 I get the “feeling like you have to read” moments just as well and the guilt that goes with it, but you’re right, if we force ourselves to read then no good can come out of it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. infictionalworlds says:

    Thank you for the tag 🙂 I’m always happy to read about how other people go about their blogging. (Also, that always happens to me with tea.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

