New Releases: April 2017

Can you guys believe that April is just a couple of days away? How did this even happen? How have three months just flown by like that? Does time move quicker the older you get? I swear, a year lasted so much longer when I was a teen (let’s not talk about how long ago that way, okay?).

But anyways, let’s get to talking about what you came here for: April 2017 releases! 

Release Date: April 4th

30312700Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennett

Alex, Approximately is marketed as a teen version of You’ve Got Mail (which I don’t think I’ve ever seen) but the synopsis sounds interesting and with the summer months fast approaching (I can’t even believe how much daylight we’ve been getting! Everything in me is jumping for joy right now) this sounds like the perfect read!

Bailey has been talking to a guy named Alex online for a couple of months by the time she moves in with her dad, who happens to live in the same town as Alex. Bailey doesn’t tell Alex about any of this, though – who knows who Alex is in real life, right? Bailey spends her summer working at the town’s museum with a really hot security guard, Porter Roth. Who just so happens to actually be Alex (and no, I did not just spoil you. This is part of the synopsis).

Release Date: April 11th

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertallithe upside of unrequited

I was so excited to be able to read The Upside of Unrequited a few weeks early and actually talked more about how I felt about this book in my review!

Molly, a fat 17-year-old girl knows all about unrequited love. She’s had crushes on 26 boys but never told any of them. Cassie, Molly’s twin sister, thinks Molly needs to ‘woman up’ but Molly is afraid of rejection. After all, fat girls have to be careful! Enter Mina, Cassie’s new girlfriend who comes with a hipster sidekick who could be just the boy to give Molly her first kiss. Well, if there wasn’t Molly’s co-worker Reid.

32860355Alex and Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz

When I first heard that there was going to be a book about Alexander Hamilton I freaked out. Seriously. It was embarrassing. I am a huge Hamilton fan and have been really into the soundtrack and I keep watching the same videos of the cast performing over and over again. It’s getting out of hand. BUT. Let’s get back on topic her! Alex and Eliza!

This book basically tells the story of Hamilton and Eliza from their meeting at the Schuyler’s grand ball and onward. If you are familiar with the musical, you probably know all about their story and don’t need much more information to want to read this book, right? Everyone else? Please do yourself the favor and listen to the soundtrack (and prepare yourself to be sucked into a Hamilton shaped hole)!

Literally by Lucy Keating30653879

The synopsis for Literally is just so intriguing and meta? Basically, the author writes about a girl, Annabell, who has been living the perfect life. Next thing we know, Lucy Keating (the author in the novel) announces she’s writing a new book – and Annabell is the heroine! Unfortunately, Annabell is tired of living a life where everything is plotted out for her. But will Annabell be able to find a way to write her own story or will Lucy Keating win?

To be honest, when I first read the synopsis I was a bit confused and it took me a few careful and slow re-reads to understand what was going on – but then I was hooked! Doesn’t that just sound like such a fun read? I know I’m excited for this one!

And there we have it! Four April 2017 releases that I am really excited about and can’t wait to read within the next couple of months! Next month I get to talk about two books I am super excited about (I’ll let you guys guess 😉 )!

What are some April releases that you’re really excited about?

As I was writing this post, I realized that I only had books for the first two weeks of the month and unfortunately nothing else really sparked my interest, but if you know of more books – let me know!

11 thoughts on “New Releases: April 2017

  1. Sarah says:

    Firstly OMG Alex and Eliza is a thing?! I am obsessed with Hamilton, listened to the soundtrack on repeat for so long and I’m so annoyed that it’s going to be opening in London, it’s so close (well closer than NYC) but at the minute I just can’t justify the cost of the tickets, travel down from Scotland and a hotel overnight, but a book, that I can afford!

    I also have The Upside To Unrequited to read. Other April releases I’m looking forward to YA wise are Letters to the Lost, The State of Grace and The Last Thing You Said, I’ve the first two still to read and I’ve read and really enjoyed the last one. Other genres He Said / She Said and Before The Fall

    Liked by 1 person

    • Swetlana says:

      YES that’s a thing! Imagine my excitement when I saw that book pop up somewhere! I am completely in love with Hamilton and so obviously this made my list!

      That sucks! But maybe you’ll get the chance to see the musical one day! I am still hoping that they release what they filmed of the original cast performing one day! Because to be honest, that’s who I want to see perform the play: the original cast!

      I definitely need to check out the books you mentioned! Maybe there’s something else in there that I might enjoy! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kris says:

    BAH I need to read Simon so badly! It’s something I meant to read a REALLY long time ago, yet here I am, still not having read it. Also, Alex Approximately sounds lovely! You’ve got mail is supposed to be a fantastic movie. I can’t wait until I’m on summer vacation and I can finally catch up with everything.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Swetlana says:

      I still haven’t read Simon either, but since they are turning it into a movie and I enjoy Becky’s writing, I might have to pick it up soon! And contemporary books are usually such quick reads for me too!

      Yeah, it seems like a movie that quite a lot of people really enjoy! Maybe I’ll give it a go after reading the book! 🙂 Have you seen it?

      Like

      • kris says:

        I haven’t seen it! I’ve been meaning to watch it for ages, like everything else I need to do lol.
        Nursing school takes over my soul. So, until the summer, I will wallow in my list of things to enjoy.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

