Wrap Up: March 2017 (+what I’ve read so far this year)

I was taking it quite slow at the start of this year with my reading process but since then I have read 8 books so far and here’s where I’m going to talk about them briefly to wrap up March (essentially the first three months of 2017).

So far…

18243700

 

I really enjoyed getting to know more of Celaena’s backstory before the first book of the series takes place. This Novella was a great way to showcase what made her the person she was at the start and who she was becoming by the end of the series. I gave this one 5 stars because it was even more enjoyable knowing everything that happened after. It kinda tied up the loose ends in my mind and the story.

Review

 

28260587

It picked right up where we left off in Queen of Shadows. I won’t be talking in depth about this book here but I reviewed it which you can read here. Overall the plot moved in a direction that I really like and want to see more of going forward. The ending made me cry, though.

My rating was 5 Stars.

 

 

 

23437156

These six characters are so near and dear to my heart already and this book made me fall in love with them. Leigh did such a great job writing about their struggles, what makes them who they are, what scares them deep down.

I highly recommend reading this duology about extraordinary characters that have interesting personalities that you don’t see around often.

You can read my review for it here. I rated it 5 stars.

 

 

In March…

22299763

The Sequel to Six of Crows had a lot of things I wanted out of this story and it had me on the edge of my seat, turning page after page, anticipating what was about to happen next. As the plot thickened around them they always found a way out, a way to either escape or take over the situation coming out stronger than ever. I was really happy with the ending overall. I shared even more, thoughts in my review.

My rating is 4.5 Stars.

 

 

13206828After I had finished SOC I figured it would be smart to go and get started on the series I haven’t finished yet and I have wanted to read this one for quite a long time. So when I picked it up I couldn’t put it down. Every chance I had to read, I took it. There’s something quite captivating about the writing of this series and the fact these characters have grown on me so much I’m just sitting there rooting for them.

Cress is a character I relate to so much because she’s been in captivity for so long and she didn’t have any social interaction besides her Mistress so I relate to that aspect of being a rather reserved person.

13206900

I actually didn’t think I would manage to get to this book by the end of the month due to work and school taking up a lot of my time but once I got sucked into the plot and what was happening I couldn’t put it down anymore. I found myself devouring it within 3 days which has never happened before especially with a book that has 800+ pages. A wonderful, very satisfying conclusion to an amazing, action packed, extraordinary series of fairytale re-tellings that take you on an insane journey.

Rating: Without a doubt in my mind 5 Stars.

 

22489107 (1)

Coming into it I expected to be getting to know more about Levana’s mind and what makes her so evil and vile. What I found instead was a woman that started out just wanting to be loved by her family but not having gotten any of that, she turned to manipulation and anger. This book helped me understand her motives a bit more but didn’t make me hate her any less. To me, what she did to everyone, any innocent person, can’t be justified by her past. In fact, it makes her just as bad as everyone that hurt her. I gave this book 4 stars.

Overall a good insight into the character.

 

25689074

This was such a nice addition to the series, giving the readers more insight into the past of some of the characters, what they have been through, how they got to where they started out in the beginning. i.e. how Cinder even came to New Beijing in the first place, how she met Iko, etc. What surprised me was getting to know a completely new character that I either didn’t remember from before or Marissa added her on, but, nonetheless, I really enjoyed this book.

 

 

What have you read in March? (Feel free to share your wrap up post with us!)

5 thoughts on “Wrap Up: March 2017 (+what I’ve read so far this year)

  1. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    SIX OF CROWS. Oh my gosh, the amount of love I have for that series is unreal!! It was so so amazing, I’m glad you liked it. And Empire of Storms! I’ve been meaning to read it ever since its release, but haven’t gotten around to it. It’s good to hear you liked it though, makes me more excited to read it for sure! So many great books here, The Lunar Chronicles are one of my favourites as well ahah. ❤ Looks like you're having a great 2017 reading-wise so far, that's so great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sandra says:

      When I was reading it I kept thinking “Why didn’t I read this sooner” but there’s so many books out there it’s hard to get through all of them. But I really enjoyed it and I wish there was more. Although the story wrapped up nicely in crooked kingdom.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

