Wrap Up: March 2017

March truly didn’t start out to good for me when it comes to my reading. I had gotten myself into some kind of reading funk/slump by the end of February and I was definitely still feeling it in March! But luckily I still managed to read a couple of books and get myself out of that slump for the most part! Hallelujah! Here are the books I read in March!

a gathering of shadowsA Gathering Of Shadows by VE Schwab

A Gathering Of Shadows (book #2 in the Shades Of Magic trilogy) was the first book I managed to finish this month despite my slump. Actually, I started reading it towards the end of February and got really annoyed by the slow pacing of this book and I just put this book to the side and ignored books for a little while. But once I finally picked it back up, I think I read the remaining 250-300 pages in no time!

But I don’t want to bore you guys with too many details since I actually wrote an in-depth review on this book! If you decide to check it out, make sure to grab a snack and a drink! You might be reading for a little while. 😉

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertallithe upside of unrequited

The Upside of Unrequited is actually the first ARC I ever got approved for which was super exciting and after weeks and weeks, I finally decided to pick this book up one random weekend and I actually read it in one sitting! I think this book might have been the first step to getting myself out of my funk because I picked up more books after!

I also wrote a review for this book and would really love it if you read it and showed it some love! And obviously, pick this book up on April 11th!

 

 

hateugive_10-10snapThe Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

After talking and thinking about The Hate U Give for months, I was finally able to get my hands on this book and read it! I also pretty much finished this one in a day and only put it down when my parents were lovely enough to come by and fix some things around my apartment for me! I think THUG might be the book to get my out of slump completely and I am so thankful for it! I was starting to get a bit worried that this slump was gonna last even longer!

Unlike the first two books, THUG didn’t get a full review from me. I didn’t feel like I was educated enough on a lot of the issues talked about in the book and I didn’t want to say anything that might have been wrong and/or out of line. I did share some of my thoughts on the book though if you would like to check those out! 

A Conjuring Of Light by VE Schwaba conjuring light

The next book I finished this month was A Conjuring Of Light, the final book in VE Schwab’s Shades Of Magic trilogy! I had originally planned to take things slow with this book and really take the story and its characters in as I knew that this was the last book set in this world and I wasn’t really ready to say goodbye just yet. But, that plan never worked out. This book was so action packed from the first page and I just couldn’t stop turning page after page! Victoria Schwab has definitely outdone herself with this book, in my opinion! Now I just need her to write more stories set in this world because she definitely opened the doors for it!

I also wrote a review for A Conjuring Of Light because I wanted to make sure I had my thoughts for each book in the trilogy written down somewhere to look back on some day! It’s also not as long as my review for A Gathering Of Shadows which surprised me a little bit, to be honest.

the names they gave us uk coverThe Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

And last but not least, I started and finished reading The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord! I was approved for an eARC of this book via NetGalley and read this in a single sitting one night! I was a bit worried I wouldn’t enjoy the religious aspects that the book dealt with (I think I overlooked that part of the synopsis when I read it…oops) but I ended up not minding it at all! This was a great story about friendships and love and how that can shape you as a person! My review for this is going to be posted closer to the official UK release date!

At the very beginning of this month, I would have never thought that I would be able to finish five books! I was in the weirdest slump as I’ve mentioned before and just didn’t feel like reading at all. But I think I might have left all of that behind now! Let’s hope April continues to be as awesome as March!

Did you read any amazing books this month? Did you read A Conjuring Of Light too? Are you okay after finishing it (I am not.)? Let’s discuss in the comments below – but remember, no spoilers!

8 thoughts on “Wrap Up: March 2017

  1. Marie says:

    You have read some great books this month, that’s quite awesome ❤ I need to read THUG at some point, hopefully I will be able to soon and share the love for this book with everyone.
    I love the cover of The Name They Gave Us! That story sounds quite good as well, I think I'd enjoy it a lot – need to add it to my TBR 🙂
    I also read ACOL this month and, well..I have lots of feelings about it all haha.
    Have a lovely month! ❤

    Like

    • Swetlana says:

      Yeah, I really did! And no one is more surprised by it then me! 🙂

      I really hope you’ll be able to do it soon too! it’s such a great read and deals with the topics of police brutality so well! It also had me crying a few times!

      Right? So pretty! Unfortunately the US cover isn’t quite as pretty!

      ACOL left me utterly destroyed! I don’t think I have ever cried as much or as hard as I did while reading this book!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Marie says:

        I didn’t think ACOL would make me this emotional either – it kind of took me by surprise, but I guess these characters, I just couldn’t NOT feel everything for them ❤

        Like

  2. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    Ahhh so many lovely books!! I LOVED A Gathering of Shadows and A Conjuring of Light so much! I’m so glad you loved them too. I can’t wait to read THUG and The Upside of Unrequited. I didn’t know there’s a new Emery Lord book! It has such a beautiful cover and sounds so great. It’s awesome you read such amazing books this month despite the slump! Slumps can be the worst ahah but I’m glad it didn’t get too much in your way. 💞

    Liked by 1 person

    • Swetlana says:

      Yeah, I’m really happy with my reading this past month! Such good luck with what I picked up! Now I just hope I’ll manage to find time to read this month as I am staying with my sister to take care of her and her boys while her foot is healing. I managed all of 5 pages of my ACOTAR re-read. 😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Swetlana says:

        I guess! But now I’m home again for a couple of days while my sister’s husband is home from work, so hopefully I’ll get ACOTAR read and maybe even ACOMAF before I have to head over to her place again! But then I also have This Savage Song coming tomorrow and I want to jump right in. DECISIONS. I hate making them!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

