April Favorites!

+Update: Hey Guys! Me again. I’m sorry I have been kinda absent most of this month.  Swetlana had taken over for a bit (unintentionally to be more specific) which is totally fine with me! I think you guys have been loving her recent posts, right? However, reading has been kind of in the background of things for me most of April (I might have overdone it last month with reading so many books in a row) so I resorted to watching Shows. But I didn’t want to leave you guys with nothing!

A lot of people make these types of posts where they talk about things they have been loving (for example every month). I’ve been watching a lot more TV Shows (all on Netflix) than I have been reading books lately but nonetheless, I have found a lot more characters and stories to love which is something I love doing and experiencing. (btw this is no particular order)

TV Shows:

Sense8

senseeight

 

A group of people around the world are suddenly linked mentally, and must find a way to survive being hunted by those who see them as a threat to the world’s order.

Season 2 is out on May 5th – so now is the perfect time to catch up!

Swetlana has actually been watching this show way longer than I have and now that I have watched it I don’t know why I didn’t do it sooner tbh. The characters and the concept of feeling connected to complete strangers from all over the world got me hooked immediately and I found myself wanting to watch one episode after another.

If you haven’t watched it yet – I highly recommend you do so. (+ it features LGBT characters)

13 Reasons Why

MV5BYTFmNzRlNWYtMmFmNi00ZTFiLWJhODgtOGM5ODQ5NTgxZWUwL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTExNDQ2MTI@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_

Follows teenager Clay Jensen, in his quest to uncover the story behind his classmate and crush, Hannah, and her decision to end her life.

I was apprehensive going into it but I was pleasantly surprised by how real they have portrayed Hannah’s struggles and how everything negative or degrading you say or do to someone will always stay with them no matter what because we really don’t know what’s going in someone else’s life. I think it is really important to remember that these things happen every day and that they should be prevented.

The show is way better than the book in my opinion. But I respect it if you did not enjoy the show or if you don’t want to watch it. Beware of trigger warnings though! (Let me know your thoughts though)

A Series of Unfortunate Events

eine-reihe-betrüblicher-ereignisse-cover

The tragic tale of the Baudelaire orphans – Violet, Klaus, and Sunny – whose evil guardian Count Olaf will stop at nothing to get his hands on their inheritance. After the loss of their parents in a mysterious fire, the three extraordinary siblings must outsmart Olaf at every turn, foiling his many devious plans and disguises, in their fateful quest to unlock long-held family secrets.

Season 2 is out on January 13th 2018

I’ve known about these books for so long but I never read them prior to watching but I was curious about the show so I just randomly decided to watch it and then I couldn’t stop.

I kinda fell in love with it, despite the premise being sad I found myself being entertained a lot. Also, Neil Patrick Harris does an amazing job at portraying Count Olaf. I’ve loved him on How I Met Your Mother for years now and I was happy to see him on ASOUE.

The Get Down

585488

1970s New York City – broken down and beaten up, violent, cash-strapped – dying. Consigned to rubble, a rag-tag crew of South Bronx teenagers are nothings and nobodies with no one to shelter them – except each other, armed only with verbal games, improvised dance steps, some magic markers and spray cans. The Get Down is a mythic saga of how New York at the brink of bankruptcy gave birth to hip-hop, punk, and disco – told through the lives and music of the South Bronx kids who changed the city, and the world… forever.

THIS SHOW man! I don’t know what to say other than how original, real, honest and fun it is! I’ve actually started this show last year but for some reason, I didn’t really feel connected to it but part 2 recently came out so I picked it up again and I found myself falling in love with these kids and their experiences.

If you love hip hop, punk and/or disco, you’re gonna love this show! I’m not actually a huge hip-hop fan myself but I actually really enjoyed all of the songs.

I HIGHLY recommend it!

+

5 Songs:

Set Me Free from The Get Down Part 1 Soundtrack

original-soundtrack-the-get-down-174400

I have been listening to the Soundtrack back to back ever since I finished watching part 1 & 2. This show has so much original music which has a lot of hip hop influences but is still so new and fun to listen to!

 

What’s Up by 4 Non BlondesWhatsUpCover

This song came up on Sense8 during a really great scene that reminded me of this song and I was sitting there singing along. It’s been stuck in my head ever since!

 

Sign Of The Times by Harry Styles

Harry_Styles_-_Sign_of_the_Times_(Official_Single_Cover)All of the boys from 1D went on do their own solo thing during their hiatus and Harry has recently not only announced a new single but also his own self-titled Album. I’m really proud of him. SOTT is such a great song that has a great potential to be very successful and he honestly deserves it all. His Album is out on May 12th.

Take On Me by Pentatonix cover1

They’ve recently released an EP of classic songs and this one is definitely my favorite one of them! (I do also like Imagine). TOM is such a classic I’ve known this song for so long and PTX have really taken it and turned it into their own version. They are definitely one of my favorite artists to listen to. You guys should check out their youtube channel.

There’s nothing holdin’ me back by Shawn Mendes

Illuminate_(Official_Album_Cover)_by_Shawn_Mendes

Shawn has just released this song and of course, I had to listen to it because I’ve been loving his music for so long. (Honestly, I probably listened to both Handwritten and Illuminate over a hundred times) It’s another very catchy and fun tune!

 

 

What have you been loving in April? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “April Favorites!

Leave a Reply

