Down The TBR Hole #10

You might have seen this post pop up in your readers earlier and wondered what exactly went wrong as all that was published was the title. Well, I had scheduled this post weeks ago with the plan of writing it this weekend. But I have managed to completely ruin my sleeping schedule to the point of being up all night and sleeping the day away and in the middle of all that, I forgot all about writing this post! I’m really sorry about that! But here it is now!

One more thing before we get into this, we just want to thank all of you guys for taking the time to read our blog every day, leaving feedback and following us! We’ve just reached the 100 followers mark earlier this week and we couldn’t be happier! Thank you guys so much!

Now, let’s actually get into this post! Down The TBR Hole is a weekly meme hosted by Lia over at Lost In A Storyย with the purpose of looking at a number of books on your TBR each week and decided which books get to stay and which have to go! This is my tenth week participating and I’m really happy with how my TBR has evolved ever since I started!

PicMonkey Collage

Book #1: The Sword Of Summer by Rick Riordan

I really like the sound of The Sword Of Summer and the fact that it connects reading to my love of what I’ve seen of Norse mythology in the Thor movies and since I’m super excited for the upcoming Thor: Ragnorak movie and this might be something to hold me over, this is going to stay on my TBR! People were also telling me I need to read a previous book of Rick Riordan’s that I had featured in a Down The TBR Hole post, so I’m definitely inclined to keep his books on my TBR! Question though: can I read this before any of his other books?

Book #2: The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan

From a quick look at the Goodreads page for The Lost Hero, it seems like characters from Rick’s Percy Jackson series pop up in here (if I remember correctly, Annabeth was a character in that one) which leads me to take this off my TBR until I’ve read the Percy Jackson and if I like it, I’ll put this back on.

PicMonkey Collage1

Book #3: The Kiss Of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

There was a time when the synopsis for The Kiss Of Deception would’ve appealed to me, but it’s definitely not anymore. I’ve also heard pretty mixed things about this series and it only gets bigger with each book and I have commitment issues but and I also need to finish a series once I start it – especially if it’s complete already. So, because I don’t feel like committing to this at all, this is going off my TBR!

Book #4: Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers

I probably added Assassin’s Heartย to my TBR when I was super excited about Celaena being an assassin and figured I need to read more books set in that world – but I don’t care about any of that anymore. This book is definitely going off my TBR!

Book #5: The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

I only really added The Glittering Court to my TBR because I really enjoyed Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series before, but this book doesn’t sound interesting at all anymore. I’m sorry, Richelle! This is going off my TBR as well!ย 

Oh wow. Did I really just take all but one book off my TBR this week? Damn! But I feel like this is great. I’d rather have fewer books on TBR but have them all be books I’m really excited to read! And I feel like that’s definitely what my TBR is going to be by the end of this!

Have you guys read any of these books? Did you enjoy them? Please let me know in the comments below!

And once again, thank you guys so much for being such great readers and friends! These past few months have been so much fun! Thank you!

6 thoughts on “Down The TBR Hole #10

  1. Analee @ Book Snacks says:

    Ahah I read The Glittering Court and honestly it was quite underwhelming and not worth the read for me in my opinion. ๐Ÿ™ˆ But I did love The Lost Hero and The Sword of Summer! I’d recommend reading Percy Jackson before TLH but I wouldn’t really say it’s necessary to read those series before Magnus Chase? There’s only a mention or a couple of appearances from Annabeth and I don’t think the previous events play a big part. But I did read it a while ago so maybe I’m mistaken haha. Either way I hope you enjoy it!! ๐Ÿ˜Š
    AND YAYYYY CONGRATS on 100 followers!!! That’s such an amazing milestone omg and you completely deserve it. ๐Ÿ’ž๐Ÿ’ž *throws confetti*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Swetlana says:

      Yeah, I think I heard that The Glittering Court was a bit underwhelming too which sucks because I loved two of Richelle’s other series! Maybe I’ll give it a go one day!

      That sounds so promising! So many people love these books and I really want to know what that is all about it! I’m glad that I don’t have to read 10 books before I can get to Magnus Chase! Even though it probably will suck not knowing some of the characters or not having that connection to them that someone who has read all of the books has. But 10 books is a LOT to read before getting to something I am excited about!

      Thank you! We’re both really happy and excited about it too! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bibliopathictendencies says:

    Congrats on 100 followers, guys! I’m with you in that if I start a series, a lot of times I feel compelled to finish it. I read the Kiss of Deception and thought it was okay. I read them thinking they’d get better but… they didn’t. The main character is a total Mary Sue, there’s a really unnecessary love triangle, and we are once again faced with an “assassin” who probably couldn’t kill his worst enemy if they handed him a loaded gun. I know lots of people love it but… overhyped, if you ask me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Swetlana says:

      Thank you so much! We’re super excited and happy. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Urgh, the love triangle! That’s just another reason not to read the book for me! LMAO, oh god! If they’re going to feature assassins at least make them kick some serious ass!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

