Review: The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic (Book #1)

Hey, Guys! I’ve really missed writing reviews and after my reading slump at the beginning of April, I found my way back! So here we go again!

Plot

17259690“Neil Josten is the newest addition to the Palmetto State University Exy team. He’s short, he’s fast, he’s got a ton of potential—and he’s the runaway son of the murderous crime lord known as The Butcher.

Signing a contract with the PSU Foxes is the last thing a guy like Neil should do. The team is high profile and he doesn’t need sports crews broadcasting pictures of his face around the nation. His lies will hold up only so long under this kind of scrutiny and the truth will get him killed.”

We dive straight into it when Neil basically has no choice but to sign with the foxes to be a part of their team after they’d had a disastrous season and needed to get back on track. The author dove right into things without stalling for at least 100 pages as most authors do but, this book moved quickly which I really liked.

Characters

Neil as a protagonist and all of that mystery and secrets made me want to know more about him and why he is the person he is at that point in the beginning. He’s one of those characters who isn’t inherently bad or good because most of what he’s done was so he could survive every day. Which reminded me a lot of Kaz Brekker from Six of Crows.

Andrew intrigues me so much. I really enjoyed his dynamic with Neil and I think going forward it’s going to be interesting to see how that develops. He also has a lot of secrets that need exploring. I didn’t mind that this book was quite short but it would have been great to get some answers about Andrew before going into book 2.

Kevin already became one of those characters that didn’t deserve anything that happened to him and I just want to protect him from all of it. Hopefully, the second book, The Raven King will give Kevin some well-deserved happiness once in a while.

What I want to see going forward

Having only over 200 pages made this book more of a quick introduction read to me which isn’t necessarily a bad thing because I did really enjoy it, overall.

Going into The Raven King it would be great to see more of Neil’s past and what his parents did to him, what his childhood was like, as sad it is. That’s what was missing in TFC because Neil is a really big pile of secrets at this point, that could use a bit of unfolding if you ask me.

With how things ended between Andrew and Neil it makes me really look forward to what’s going to change between them over the course of the next book. I’d like them to get to know each other better and be able to actually trust each other.

Rating

My rating ended up being 4.5 Stars because I did really enjoy it but it needed more depth for me to be able to give it 5. I definitely recommend you guys check out these books I think they have great potential.

Did you read this series already? If yes, let me know your thoughts on book 1! (No Spoilers, please)

3 thoughts on “Review: The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic (Book #1)

  1. I looooooved this book! And the series actually gets better as it goes. (I know people say this about a lot of books, but it’s true!) You definitely do learn more about Neil (and the other characters) as you go. Something I loved about this series is that it’s really fast-paced. There’s no wasted time. I feel like a lot of books have tons of filler stuff that bores me. This book never did. Glad you enjoyed it and hope you enjoy the rest!

    Also, fun fact, when I read this the first time, I thought Kevin was going to end up being Neil’s love interest (if you can call it that). So I read the entire book under that impression. Then I read the description for the second book and went, “Wait… wait… It’s ANDREW?” Hilarious. Idk how I missed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have already finished the series, I just pre-wrote every review for it and I thought it would make more sense to do it that way so people don’t already know all of my thoughts on every book in the first review. The last one will go up in june i think. but yes i agree, with every book it got better. oh my god, that’s kinda funny 😀 i knew, before going into it, that andrew and neil would end up together but i enjoyed the ride nonetheless.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

