The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

90875

I found this great tag on literaryweaponry and decided to join in! You guys know I love doing book tags, they are a lot of fun and people really get to talk about certain things without having to make an entire post about it, you know.

A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT YOU DIDN’T LIKE

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater is kind of the only one I can think of that didn’t sit as well with me as with everyone else, it seems like. It’s not that it’s not a good series or anything – I really enjoy Ronan’s character and I do plan on finishing this series – but there’s just something about the writing that bored me throughout Blue Lily, Lily Blue because the plot was moving so slowly it was getting tiring to read. Bottom line is, I don’t like it as much as I wanted to. But that happens sometimes.

A POPULAR BOOK OR BOOK SERIES THAT EVERYONE ELSE SEEMS TO HATE BUT YOU LOVE

The only one I can think of is Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Personally, I loved these characters so much because they aren’t perfect – nor are they trying to be anything other than who they are. It’s been quite some time since I finished it and I already want to re-read it because those characters are so close to my heart already. BUT just like with every book there are people that don’t like it and that’s okay. It was pointed out that this series has a general positive response from people but I was thinking along the lines of “what I read so far”.

AN OTP THAT YOU DON’T LIKE

I’m gonna go with Feyre/Tamlin from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas because when I read ACOMAF (the second book in the series) I just couldn’t believe why anyone would ever like them together after everything he did to her. ACOTAR is one of those series that, when you read the first book, don’t let it make up your mind about everything completely because the second book turns everything around and more. Edit: I chose Feyre/Tamlin because they are a pairing I used to enjoy but I no longer do.

A POPULAR BOOK GENRE THAT YOU HARDLY REACH FOR

I don’t read a lot of romance based books because I’m more of a plot kind of reader like fantasy or dystopian. Those books that are purely based on a romance between a girl and a guy bore me – I need more than that. Besides I’m getting tired of straight romance everywhere – I want more LGBT characters in books!

A POPULAR/BELOVED CHARACTER THAT YOU DO NOT LIKE

Snape from Harry Potter. Boom, there it goes. After getting into the books I even disliked him more than before because of the way he abused Harry not only verbally but also emotionally is just not something I can get over. I don’t care what he’s been through in his life, it doesn’t excuse abusing a child.

POPULAR AUTHOR THAT YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO

Maggie Stiefvater and to be honest – I don’t even know why. It’s not like I hate her writing but The Raven Cycle will be the only books of hers I’m gonna read.

A POPULAR BOOK TROPE THAT YOU’RE TIRED OF SEEING

The guy who saves the girl and they fall in love in a matter of seconds. No, thank you. Women don’t need men to exist, and have a good life. I just don’t like how it contributes to the idea that women aren’t vaild without a man on their side. Give me a romance where the guy lets her make her own decisions without belittling her intelligence altogether. Give me a romance where they make each other happy with mutual respect and healthy communication.

A POPULAR SERIES THAT YOU HAVE NO INTEREST IN READING

Ever since The Hunger Games became so big, it never interested me in the slightest. Now, I can’t say I might not pick it up someday out of curiosity but it’s nowhere near on my radar.

THE SAYING GOES “THE BOOK IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN THE MOVIE”, BUT WHAT MOVIE OR TV SHOW ADAPTATION DO YOU PREFER MORE THAN THE BOOK?

This one is easy because it’s definitely Shadowhunters which is based on The Mortal Instruments books. The way the author wrote certain things and relationships in the books is racist, homophobic/biphobic and romanticizing inc*st. I read the books in 2014 not being aware of these things which I now regret since I can see it clearly more than ever. The TV Show has taken these characters and not only aged them up but made them more likable, relatable and a joy to watch every week. I love this show so much!

If you want to do this tag, feel free to do it! You can say I tagged you 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Anushka H. says:

    I loved reading your post but I think you got a couple of things a tad bit wrong. SoC is a VERY popular duology and tons of people love it. Of course like you said, there will always be some people who don’t like a book but SoC is widely popular and well-loved and the general opinion of the series is amazing. It’s much more loved that the Grisha trilogy. Also, Feyre and Tamlin are not really among the prominent couples of the trilogy (as a whole). The actual pairing in that series is Rhysand and Feyre (which you probably know if you read ACOMAF). Feyre and Tamlin are not even considered as a real pair if you make it past book one 🙂

    Like

    • Sandra says:

      Yeah but SOC is one of those that I have seen get dislike here and there but I was going from what I read so far so it’s the only one that came to mind for me (once I read a lot more books I might do this again and see how my answers differ from that). And yes of course I love feyre and rhys but feyre and tamlin had history together and they used to have a relationship (that no longer exists). With that question I kinda didn’t really think of then as otp more like a pairing from a book that I no longer enjoy. I haven’t yet read enough to really pinpoint answers for these tags but I thought why not try and someday I will definitely do it again because I really enjoyed writing this. This is so long haha I hope that clears it up a little

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Swetlana says:

    What do you mean you don’t like The Raven Cycle that much??? How? But no, I get it! Maggie’s writing is definitely not for everyone! And I had a difficult time getting into the story the first time I read The Raven Boys!

    Regarding The Hunger Games, you should absolutely read it! It’s a great story and probably the first one I ever read in English (if I remember correctly)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sandra says:

      I don’t know what it is but there’s just something about the writing that just didn’t get to me the way I hoped it would. And I might consider thg at some point but not in the near future.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jennanicolee says:

    Interesting answers! I wasn’t expecting the Shadowhunter one to be honest, but that’s great that you like it! I love Malec in the show…main reason for watching it ha-ha! I’m not usually a “shipper” for characters or what not, but this one for sure. I can’t get into Maggie Stiefvater’s works either…I try, but I just end up giving up. Also, I totally agree with the male saves female then BOOM, in love thing. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sandra says:

      Yeah I really love this show and I can’t wait for it to come back in a few weeks! Same for me 😉 I have been in all kinds of fandoms over the years so I’m familiar with shipping. You’re the first to agree with me on that 😄 and yeah, it’s just really unrealistic to me? Like you can be infatuated with someone but falling in love doesn’t take 3 seconds. Thank you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

