Blogger Recognition Award Take 2

blogger recognition awardBefore I get into this post I just wanted to share a quick little update with you guys. If you follow me on Twitter you might’ve seen me talk about this already, but if you haven’t: I’ve decided to stop doing the Down The TBR Hole posts for a couple of weeks! I haven’t felt like writing them recently and they’ve started to feel like a chore and that is the last thing I want it to be. Sandra is still going to post her’s on the weekend though, so you have that to look forward too! I will get back to them eventually!

But now, let’s get into today’s post! Sandra and I were tagged by Lois over at Lois Reads Books to do the Blogger Recognition Award! We’ve done this once before a couple of months ago, but I figured I would do it again! We’ve definitely learned quite a bit more about blogging since then and I thought it would be fun to share with you guys!

screen-shot-2017-02-02-at-09-31-22

The Rules

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.

Our History

I’ve been a book lover and lover of social media and blogging for many years and used to have a blog about a decade ago now (I think that’s about right, holy shit) and then towards the end of last year and around New Year’s Eve I kept thinking that I wanted to have a blog again and share my love of books with people who feel the same way. I’ve been a passive member of the book community for years (both BookTube and bookstagram) and I wanted to actively participate too! I asked Sandra if she wanted to do this blogging thing with me and luckily for all of us, she agreed! We’ve been blogging for almost five months now and our blog has definitely gone through a few changes already! I can’t wait to see what is yet to come for us!

Some Advice

Don’t be afraid to change things if they aren’t working (anymore)

When Sandra and I first started blogging, we didn’t really have a plan or schedule for our posts, we’d just post whenever we felt like it. That turned into us barely posting anything in January. Then we came up with a plan of action and somewhat of a schedule, trying to make sure we posted a variety of posts each day of the week to keep things interesting for us and our readers! We’ve since changed things about again to posting every other day which has been working really well! So, my biggest advice is: don’t be afraid of change! You’re learning as you go along and you’ll figure things out gradually!

Don’t underestimate how much time you are going to invest in blogging & the community

I feel like this is definitely something I didn’t realize would be a thing? I figured I would be posting here and there and commenting on people’s post and that would be it. All nice and easily done. But then you realize (especially as you follow more people and your following grows) that being an active member of the community takes quite some time! There are a ton of new posts to read, to comment or like posts and respond to your comment. Plus, obviously: writing new content for your blog! And that takes time to come up with ideas, putting said ideas to paper (or on screen) and editing the posts. All of that takes time!

But everything you have learned and will learn is definitely going to be worth it if you’re doing what you’re loving! So don’t be afraid to put in the time and effort! And don’t be afraid to take a step back if you have to! There are things in life that take priority sometimes!

Do you guys have any further tips for bloggers? Let’s share in the comments below and we can all benefit from them!

5 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award Take 2

    1. Right? Unfortunately, I’ve been lagging lately when it comes to commenting, so I haven’t been spending as much time. But overall, YES. It takes quite some time!

      I don’t mind you asking at all! We’re friends! We met YEARS ago because we were both huge The Vampire Diaries fans and get to know each other that way. 🙂 She’s probably also one of the few people I still keep in contact with from those days! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You are so right. I definitely didn’t expect blogging to take so much time. I thought it’d take me 10 minutes to write a post, whack it up and done. How wrong I was 😂 ! It’s actually really time consuming being in this community, I didn’t expect it at all. Don’t get me wrong though, I wouldn’t change it for anything. I love being able to have this little book community! Great advice ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

