Are Commenting Slumps A Thing?

For a couple of weeks now, I have been in this really weird thing where I haven’t really been commenting on people’s posts as much as I usually would. I don’t know how many of you guys have noticed this – but it’s been an ongoing problem and I am kind of annoyed by it.Β 

I’ve been trying to figure out why I have been acting this way for a few days or weeks now and I just can’t seem to pinpoint what exactly is going on or going wrong here. I still check my reader multiple times a day to look for new posts to read and comment on, but I just seem to find myself with either nothing to say or clicking out of a post because I can’t seem to get myself to finish it (most of the time it’s not because the content is unappealing).

This is again something that would never happen to me. I usually comment on pretty much any post I see in my reader or at least leave a Like if I don’t have anything to add in a comment, but even that hasn’t been happening lately.

We all know that reading slumps are a Things. And blogging slumps are a Thing too. But are commenting slumps a Thing? Is that something people experience at one point or another during their time as a blogger and active member of a community?

Jess from beaucoupbooks recently tweeted about not having been as good about commenting on people’s post lately and when I mentioned how I felt the same, she talked about it being okay to need a break sometimes and not to feel bad about it. But as I told her, I don’t feel like I need a break? I still very much enjoy every part of blogging – including commenting.

Have you guys experienced this feeling before? Is it a common thing to happen? If so, do you guys have any tips for me on how to deal with this because I am honestly clueless.Β 

18 thoughts on “Are Commenting Slumps A Thing?

  1. May @ Forever and Everly says:

    OMG I’M FEELING IT TOO! I am TOTALLY slacking on commenting on posts! I used to comment on every post except for like two or three. But now I’m not commenting on like five or six! (Or more lol.) I feel bad and want to stop… but I can’t???

    Liked by 1 person

  2. christine @ the story salve says:

    I get in weird moods sometimes where the act of catching up on all the posts in my reader feels super daunting. And then the act of coming up with something insightful to say in response to people’s posts? Forget about it!

    I don’t know about you, but I find it a lot easier to comment when people post discussion-oriented things, so that I can respond to whatever topic they brought up. I hate those days when everyone has posted memes or tags or whatever and I can’t come up with anything to say.

    I definitely feel this way about Twitter. I wake up in the morning and ~try~ to read everything that happened while I was asleep, but it never seems to work out that way. Then I get overwhelmed about having missed things, and I feel silly about replying to someone’s tweet hours later. And then I start to feel like I’m too old and I should just get off the internet. Which is ridiculous because I’m not even 30 yet.

    Needless to say, I think you should totally give yourself a break if you need to. Sometimes I bookmark posts that I know I want to read when I’m in a better headspace. Regardless, don’t beat yourself up. It happens to the best of us. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Swetlana says:

      Oh yeah, definitely! I feel like Tuesdays and Wednesdays can be a bit more difficult to a) catch up with posts and b) comment on posts because (at least for me) those are usually very meme heavy and not as easy to comment on sometimes – especially if people only write one sentence or so per listed thing. I need more to work with.

      I will usually do that too! I’ve gotten into a habit of checking Twitter and Instagram in the morning to see what I’ve missed out on. I don’t have trouble with replying to tweets hours later. I’ll usually also like tweets of someone livetweeting whatever it is that they were doing or watching if I’ve seen it/read it.

      In no way are you too told to be on social media though! I really don’t think there is such a thing. Not in today’s day and age!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Marie says:

    I don’t know if these slumps are a “thing”, but it happens to me for sure. I have my moments where I just don’t feel like commenting, and it’s not because everything I am reading is bad, it’s just because I am not in the right mood to leave a thoughtful comment and / or I am preoccupied by other things to really focus on my blog hopping. It happens for sure, for me it comes and goes, I leave the commenting for later and eventually bookmark the blog posts I think I’d want to comment on later when I’m in a better mood or something πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Swetlana says:

      Maybe that’s something I should start doing too! Because sometimes I will read a great post and want to leave a comment but I’m just not in the right mood to do it. Thanks for sharing your experience, Marie!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. kirstychronicles says:

    I definitely think commenting slumps are a thing. Sometimes I’ll read so many blog posts but I just can’t think of anything to comment, even if I think it’s a really good post. It’s like my brain just can’t be bothered of thinking up a reply πŸ˜‚ ! It really comes and goes though, one day I’ll comment on everything and the next I can’t see to do it! Great post ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jess (beaucoupbooks) says:

    There was a time where I was checking my reader everyday, trying to comment on as many people’s posts as possible but overtime I’ve definitely been commenting less and less. Somedays I don’t even come on here, and I’ve been posting a lot less this past couple months. I can understand that annoyance when you read a post but you just don’t know what to say – usually I associate that with just being a little burnt out from blogging, which is why I thought you needed a break πŸ˜› but don’t feel bad about it! Clearly you’re not the only one. I’m sure people understand πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    I’ve been feeling the same way lately! And it’s not because the posts I’m reading are bad but because I’m just genuinely not in the mood to comment! I have these lazy episodes where I don’t feel like doing anything especially commenting but I force myself through my reader and try to at least read an like a post. I definitely need to change that though because this whole thing has been dragging me down 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • Swetlana says:

      I feel like it’s rarely really the quality of the posts and more of a headspace thing like you said. I think forcing ourselves to read posts isn’t going to help us much either, because our brains are going to associate negative things with reading posts and I don’t think that’s going to work towards us enjoying commenting more. Maybe it’s just a phase and it’s going to wear itself out sooner or later? That’s what I’m hoping at least!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

        Yes, I think it might just be a temporary phase! I mean, after I commented on your post I had this sudden surge of motivation and I’ve started commenting A LOT on everyone’s posts πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ maybe it’s just a mood thing!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Swetlana says:

        Hahaha! To be honest, my experience went about the same way! I’ve already commented on more posts since publishing that post than I have in a long while! xD Maybe that’s what I needed? To talk about it to make it go away?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

