May Wrap Up

At the beginning of May, I never thought I would actually have enough time to read as many books as I did. Studying (and stressing more or less) for my exam took up a lot of my time but somehow that didn’t stop me from getting some serious reading done, which is always a good thing!

I’ve also completed my goodreads reading challenge of 17 Books! I wanted to set it higher, but I’m gonna see how far I can surpass my goal. I’m currently at 22/17.


What I read

17259690The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic (The Foxhole Court, The Raven King, and The King’s Men) is one of those series/trilogies that have been on my TBR for a few years now and in between reading other books or being distracted by a TV Show (oops!) I’ve never gotten around to reading it until now and I really really enjoyed it. (If you plan on reading this beware for graphic violence)

It’s a great series about what it means to be a team, to have friends who care about you and find safety after years of being on the run. The journey is a tough one for the main character Neil Josten, but I’m so proud of his growth as a person and how he found ways to save himself but also his team.

More thoughts on the first book are right here on my review. (The other’s are going up later in June due to our new post schedule we both agreed we would put 1-2 reviews up per week so it doesn’t get overwhelming for you guys because we have a lot of other original content planned. I have also gotten quite a few review requests from Authors so look out for them as well!)

Rating: ★★★★ (for book #1)


31938963A Court of Wings and Ruin Book #3 in the A Court of Thorns and Roses Series (A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury and A Court of Wings and Ruin) by Sarah J. Maas was finally released on May 2nd! I got my copy a week later due to Amazon playing me. (Let’s not talk about it!). Anyways, I was so excited to read this book and finally dive back into Feyre’s mind and the other amazing characters in this story. I feel like this book is a lot about family and strengthening that bond – finding forgiveness for past mistakes and years-long conflicts.

Sarah will be releasing a few Novella’s in this world and I’m so excited for that but ACOWAR marks the end of Feyre & Rhys’s story and I’m kinda sad about that because whilst I was very satisfied with the ending it’s hard to see it end so quickly – it’s only been a week since I’ve finished reading this book and I already miss these characters so much – I need more! Hopefully, Sarah will give us a few stories of them in her Novella’s, that would certainly be awesome!

Rating: ★★★★★

This series means so much to me and I think both of us will always treasure these characters and re-read these books for years to come!


17378527 (2)Last on my list for May was to finally finish The Raven Cycle (YES! I KNOW. Remember my 3 Series I haven’t finished post?) (The Raven Boys, The Dream Thieves, Blue Lily, Lily Blue, The Raven King) by Maggie Stiefvater because it’s been put on hold for way too long and I wanted to give these books another chance and hopefully feel better about them than I did the first time around.

Having stopped at Book #3 Blue Lily, Lily Blue that was exactly where I continued and it’s been kind of growing on me because the last half of this book was really good and things were finally happening in regards to Glendower and how to find him, Adam exploring how to work with his abilities, getting to know Ronan a bit more and vise versa, Blue finally having found her mom after searching for her for so long, so that really made me happy.

My initial problem with this series wasn’t with the characters – it was more with the writing and I’ve found that magical realism isn’t really my thing – although it really works for this series. Now that it’s becoming a TV Show I’m curious as to how that kind of vibe will be put to screen but it’s going to be interesting to see how they develop that kind of story without going too far from the books.

However, the last book, The Raven King was my favorite one of the series (closely followed by The Dream Thieves but that’s beside the point. Can you tell I’m rambling again?) because a lot of things were resolved in this book. Blue and Gansey finally told the others about the nature of their relationship, Ronan finally admitted to himself what he felt for Adam. It wrapped up the story so nicely – it’s a great conclusion.

Rating: ★★★★


Books I bought

With every month that ends I keep thinking to myself you’re gonna hold back on buying so many books because your TBR is big enough as it is and every time it just flies out the window – getting dismissed by temptation that I can’t resist.

As I was ordering stuff for my brother’s birthday, I thought, why not add some books in my cart while I’m at it? That’s what resulted in that:

19547856First off I got Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda and The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli whom I meant to buy for quite a while now because they seem to be fun lighthearted contemporary’s which is perfect for me to read after all of that Fantasy, which I love, but can be daunting at times, you know what I mean? So, a few fun books are always good right!?

Recently I went to town into this bookstore that I always go in whenever I’m there to try and see what English books they have this time (in German bookstores finding those can be difficult) and stumbled upon The Screenplay for Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them by J.K. Rowling and I just had to get it because I’ve recently watched the movie and loved it.

In my April Wrap Up I mentioned that I’ve been kind of collecting the books of A Series 29363501of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket – so getting Book #5 The Austere Academy was next on my list. The first one where I don’t know what happens next so when I do get to read it, it’ll be fun.

On Twitter I was saying that because of Swetlana talking about The Infernal Devices in her post about re-reading books and why it’s a good thing, seeing how much she loves it, made me really want to read them and see how I feel about them in regards to how I now feel about The Mortal Instruments Books so I went and got the boxset with Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince, and Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare.

What sold me on these books as well is getting to know what Magnus’s 7171637relationship with the characters in TID is like. There’s clearly not enough Magnus in TMI so I’m getting it wherever I can (because you know he’s one of my favorites on the show) but also getting to know a different story from CC and seeing how she wrote these after she had already released some of the TMI books.

In addition to that, I also got the Shadowhunters Codex, which is basically like Wikipedia but for Shadowhunters – explaining all of the runes, the rules of the Shadow-World and Downworld. Containing all kinds of information and I thought it would be cool to have whenever I might forget something when it’s mentioned either in TID or on the show.

Featured Posts

This time I only have two posts to feature on here because I was very focused on my exam and wrote all of my posts in advance because I was working a lot so Swetlana covered some more posts this month but in June you’re gonna get to see more content from me, which I hope you’ll enjoy!

  • The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag – I’ve really enjoyed making this post and getting to put some of my opinions out there which doesn’t mean that everyone has to feel the same way.
  • Why am I a reader Tag – This post talks about why I love to read so much and what my favorite parts are. Obviously I haven’t been an active reader all my life but in the end, the love for reading matters – not how or when it started, right?

That’s it for May! I hope you guys had a great reading month too. Tell me about the book you enjoyed the most!

4 thoughts on “May Wrap Up

  1. I’m glad to hear you liked The Raven King and thought it was a good conclusion, I enjoyed it as well…I’m very, very curious to see how that potential tv show will turn out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

