Review: The Raven King by Nora Sakavic (All for the Game #2)

Hey, Guys! I’ve really enjoyed reading the first book “The Foxhole Court” and decided to continue on with this Trilogy. I won’t get too much into the details of the plot because it contains spoilers. You can read my review of Book #1 right here! So, without further ado let’s get into it 🙂 *Note: This Review was written before I read the last book but I kinda changed the conclusion a little. Just fyi.

Plot:

18187013The Foxes are a fractured mess, but their latest disaster might be the miracle they’ve always needed to come together as a team. The one person standing in their way is Andrew, and the only one who can break through his personal barriers is Neil.

Except Andrew doesn’t give up anything for free and Neil is terrible at trusting anyone but himself. The two don’t have much time to come to terms with their situation before outside forces start tearing them apart. Riko is intent on destroying Neil’s fragile new life, and the Foxes have just become collateral damage.

What I love about her writing is that things move quickly – she doesn’t waste too much time stalling for things to be set in motion. Some of the things that happened had me on the edge of my seat and I found myself unable to put it down.

As mentioned above, I won’t be revealing too much of the plot because that would spoil people who might be interested in reading this series in the future.

How things were developed makes me really excited to see where it all ends, what happens with Neil and Andrew and the rest of the Foxes. They’ve all already grown on me so much I just want to protect them from anything bad.

Characters:

Neil Josten

Neil really is such a great character because he’s suffered for years because of his parents – having to hide in secret for so long – but he’s starting to trust his teammates more and more over time because for the first time in his life – he has people that support him and want him to be happy.

He’s a very self-sacrificing person that would do anything to keep the people safe that he cares about. Especially what he did towards the end broke my heart I was a bit teary-eyed not gonna lie.

The way his relationship with Nicky, Kevin and Andrew has progressed was great and I loved their dynamics even though there’s a lot of tension going on, I like to think that deep down they know they care about each other even if they haven’t been willing to admit it. The things that happen(ed) to them are a lot to deal with but they have each other and the team, that counts for something, right?

Specifically, with Andrew, I noticed that Neil revealed more of this truth to him than anyone else so far. He’s starting to trust him given the circumstances. Things would have started out a lot differently if things weren’t so complicated with Neil and Andrew’s condition and family. For the last book, I’m hoping to see more of the friendship (and maybe more?) side between them.

Andrew Minyard

How do I start with Andrew? Mostly, I felt kind of bad for him and everything he had to go through with his siblings and his parents (mostly his mother) which kind of brought him to that point he was, when we first met him in book 1. Now, this book revealed a lot more about Andrew’s past and why he makes the decisions he makes. In the end, I believe, he just wants to get better although getting there is not that easy. What he went through, I couldn’t imagine.

Already, I feel so attached to him. He’s just a kid who wants to protect Aaron (his brother), Nicky (his cousin) and Kevin who’s become a friend to him. He had to do certain things to get where he was because he’s a had a bad childhood (abuse being one of the things) and while I don’t condone certain behaviors, I understand where he’s coming from.

With Neil, I feel like, for the first time Andrew met someone who is unpredictable and surprises him in ways he’s probably never felt before. I want to see more of them together and how their relationship develops further. A satisfying ending would certainly be great 😀

Kevin Day

Kevin is also one of my favorite characters in this series, by far. He’s been through a lot, and with the foxes, I feel like, he’s finally found something that gives him the energy and passion back that he lost because of what his former teammate (Riko, who plays with the ravens, who Kevin transferred from to play with the foxes) did to him.

He’s been playing Exy for so long and he absolutely loves it and what Riko did to him just makes me really angry when I think about it. For his future, I hope that he gets to be happy and make amends with the past to be able to look forward.

Nicky Hemmick

Thinking about his relationship with his family just breaks my heart. Their complete disregard for his feelings and him being gay. I’ve read a lot of stories (some of them fanfiction) with gay characters who have parents that don’t accept them and every time I read one of them it kind of breaks my heart. Nicky is such a funny, smart and caring person, I don’t understand why they can’t accept him. BUT I’m hoping for book 3 that it changes. He deserves to be happy.

I want to see more of him and his friendship with Neil. I really enjoy their dynamic and the way Nicky cares about him.

Quotes I really like:

“They were different kinds of heartless and Neil, for all his problems connecting with other people, didn’t want to be a monster.”
Nora Sakavic, The Raven King

“He was their family. They were his. They were worth every cut and bruise and scream.”
Nora Sakavic, The Raven King

Conclusion:

This book was intense but so good – I couldn’t put it down. That is the best for me though, when a book is so enticing I can’t stop reading. It was a very enjoyable read and once the review of the next book goes up, I’ll be talking about the series as a whole and how I would honestly recommend it to anyone who likes a story about sports teams and friendship that is more like a family.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Raven King by Nora Sakavic (All for the Game #2)

Leave a Reply

