The Your Favorite Music Tag: Books & Music!

This tag is created by Debbie from Debbie’s Library and as you all know how much I love doing tags I couldn’t pass up on this one because these are two of my favorite things in the world combined.

Lia over at imaginaryplacesonpaper recently did this tag and it’s basically inspired by her post.

The Rules

  • Tag the creator of this tag and the one who tagged you
  • Pick 5 songs (or more) that you just have to listen whenever they are played
  • Pick the books/characters you think fit that song the best, and explain why you pick this book/character for this song

 

#1 Magnus and Alec from Shadowhunters on Freeform/The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

This song fits them so well because when they first meet you can see how there’s that spark between them, both of them not knowing what it is but they have that instant connection and it’s kind of that feeling of – This could be something special, someday. (Indeed it turned out that way)

I see this kind of from Alec’s perspective because at the start (in the show) he’s afraid of what will happen if he acts on his attraction to Magnus and it describes that feeling of being afraid but still wanting to be near that person – even if it’s confusing. Whenever I’m in the mood to listen to songs that remind me of them this is one of my go-to songs.

tumblr_ohqd99pkLH1tdm2x5o1_r1_1280

 

My mind forgets to remind me you’re a bad idea
You touch me once and it’s really
something
You find I’m even better than you imagined I would be
I’m on my guard for the rest of the world
But with you I know it’s no good

 

#2 Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

A song like this is just perfect for what kind of characters we have in this duology. That kind of vibe of like – burning down kingdoms and raising the stakes to put the fire of their enemies out. (It’s not as literal but more metaphoric and figurative.)

When I looked at the lyrics it instantly reminded of Kaz Brekker, who is one of my favorite characters I have read about in a while, who is this kind of anti-hero that doesn’t want to be anything more or less than what he is and I admire that quality and his witty mind.

23437156Holy water cannot help you now
See I have to burn your kingdom down
And no rivers and no lakes can put the fire out
I’m gonna raise the stakes, I’m gonna smoke you out

Seven devils all around me
Seven devils in my house
See they were there when I woke up this morning
I’ll be dead before the day is done

 

#3 The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The reason I picked this song for this book is that it’s that situation where a black teenager is killed because of prejudice against black peopleessentially the utter ignorance of white people that is still a big reason why this world is so deeply rooted in racism. 

Starr going through this situation is really hard for her and realizing the importance of no longer keeping silenced about her friend’s death and instead taking a stand against the media – against the cop who is responsible. Some of her white friends still display a lot of racism and Starr calls them out – that’s what the song reminds me of.

Side note: This book is amazing and I highly recommend you pick it up!

32075671

 

 

You, you may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you will join us
And the world will be as one

 

#4 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher/Netflix Show

Upon looking for a song to best describe the vibe of this book and Hannah’s life and what it was like leading up to how it ended, her feeling helplesshoping someone would come to help hergive her reasons to live. But none of that happened.

It’s been a while since I watched the show but it really stuck with me. Besides, I really love this song.

MV5BYTFmNzRlNWYtMmFmNi00ZTFiLWJhODgtOGM5ODQ5NTgxZWUwL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTExNDQ2MTI@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_

 

Head stuck in a cycle, I look off and I stare
It’s like that I’ve stopped breathing, but completely aware
‘Cause you’re giving me a million reasons
Give me a million reasons
Giving me a million reasons
About a million reasons

 

#5 Feyre and Rhysand from A Court of Thorns and Roses Trilogy by Sarah J. Maas

It isn’t necessarily a song that I actively listen to but I found it on this playlist and I think it fits them pretty well, especially as the title reminds me of the night sky in Velaris (I wish I could physically go there – It must be stunning) and how Rhys helped Feyre overcome that darkness that was in her heart and find light within herself to love someone that truly respects her as she deserves.

Throughout reading ACOWAR (that was recently released on May 2nd) I fell in love with their relationship even more than ever before. The amount of mutual understanding and zero judgement for the other’s past and what they had to endure just killed me.

acomaf

 

My life
You electrify my life
Let’s conspire to ignite
All the souls that would die just to feel alive

I’ll never let you go
If you promise not to fade away
Never fade away

Finding songs that remind me of books or certain characters was so much fun! If you guys want to do this tag as well, you can say I tagged you!

3 thoughts on “The Your Favorite Music Tag: Books & Music!

Leave a Reply

