New Releases: July 2017

july 2017 releasesWe are very quickly approaching the end of June (how did that even happen? seriously, this year is flying by!) and I figured it’s about time I share with you guys some July releases that I think you should all check out! As I put this list together I quickly realized that there is a bit of a theme going on here – can you guys guess it?


Release Date: 11th July


ash and quillAsh And Quill by Rachel Caine

Up first on my list we have the third book in Rachel Caine’s The Great Library series but since I’m not caught up with this series (or have started, for that matter) and don’t want to spoil myself (or anyone else who hasn’t read/caught up with this series), I am going to give you guys a quick idea of what the first book Ink And Bone is all about, alright?

This series is set in a world where The Great Library of Alexandria survived the test of time and now delivers knowledge to the people of major cities instantly – but the ownership of books is forbidden. Our main character, Jess, is part of a family who is involved in the black market for books while also training to become part of the Great Library as a spy for his family. One day, his friend creates a device that could potentially change the world which creates all kinds of problems for everyone involved.

Honestly, this sounds like such a fun concept and after reading The Conqueror’s Saga by Kiersten White, I hope that I’ll enjoy this series too. It’s not the same story, but the historic elements definitely make me very curious!


Release Date: 13th July


Words In Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

words in deep blue2

We were just talking about books for the previous release and guess what this one is about! Books! Or more precisely, Words In Deep Blue is about a second-hand bookshop that has a Letter Library where people can leave letters for people they love, want to love or for strangers. 

Our main character Rachel left a love letter to her best friend Henry in his favorite book before she left town and waited for him to write her back – which he never does. After her brother drowns, Rachel returns to her old town and starts working at the bookshop with Henry even though she would rather not see him again.

Words In Deep Blue sounds like a really interesting story and I did enjoy a different book I read by Cath Crowley (Graffiti Moon) so I’m definitely excited to read more of her work! And as I was checking Goodreads, there are two different release dates for this book as well as two different synopsis, which is rather weird. I’ll have the second one linked in the title of this paragraph!


Release Date: 18th July


the library of fatesThe Library Of Fates by Aditi Khorana

I honestly have no idea how to summarize what The Library Of Fates is about even though the synopsis seems easy enough? Does that ever happen to you guys? Some books you can sum up easily and things still make sense but other books you just can’t? This is a case of the latter. But let me try and if I confuse, please click the link for the Goodreads page!

The Emperor shows up in our main character Princess Amrita’s hometown even though he’s never shown interest before. To keep things civil, Amrita offers to become the Emperor’s bride and ends up as living as a fugitive and alone except for an oracle named Thala who managed to escape the palace when it was under siege. Together they try to find the Library Of Fates to reverse their own fates and go back to a time before the Emperor ever entered their lives.

I think that’s the gist of it – though I might have read things wrong or not understood them entirely, we’ll see once I get around to this book. But it definitely sounds interesting and I’m intrigued to see if the main characters actually go through with changing their fates if/when they find this Libary or if things turn out differently!


The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwellthe last magician

The Last Magician already has me excited because it’s set in New York – how often have I mentioned that setting being a selling point by now? Or you sick of hearing me say it yet? But anyways, this version of New York has barely any magic left and the few people who still have magic are in hiding. A magic barrier called the Brink traps people in Manhatten and trying to flee results in a loss of one’s magic – or life.

Esta, a talented thief with the ability to manipulate time, sets out on journeys through time stealing magical objects before the Magician knows that she’s stealing them. All of Esta’s traveling and training leads her to her biggest mission: steal a book that contains the secrets of the Order and the Brink before the Magician can destroy it and doom every person with magic.

I’ve actually been looking forward to this book since I saw it on NetGalley a couple of months ago, but unfortunately, my request got declined so I’ll have to wait until the official release to be able to read this book! It definitely sounds really exciting and I can’t wait to read about time travel and the adventures Esta is going to get herself into!


Release Date: 25th July


daughter of the burning city2Daughter Of The Burning City by Amanda Foody

Daughter Of The Burning City first came to my attention once people started sharing their BEA/BookCon hauls and a few of them included this book in their hauls. I probably wouldn’t have clicked on this book if I had just seen this particular cover (the UK paperback, on the other hand, is stunning), but after hearing people talk about this, I definitely had to add it to my TBR! 

We follow our main character, Sorina, an illusionist (and the first to be born in hundreds of years) inside the Gomorrah Festival. Sorina has the ability to create live-like illusions who all come with their own personalities and can felt and touched by others – by they aren’t alive. Or at least that’s what Sorina always thought. Until one day one of her illusions get killed and Sorina sets off on a mission to find out who is out to kill her illusions.

I feel like ever since I read Caraval by Stephanie Garber I am more intrigued by stories set in a circus-like environment and that aspect is definitely another factor as to why I added this to my TBR! How do you guys feel about stories set in circuses? 


There we have it, five releases I am excited about for the month of July! Are any of them on you guys’ radar? Or were you able to read any of them early and can share your thoughts? Let’s discuss in the comments below!


Follow Me On Social Media


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Tumblr

18 thoughts on “New Releases: July 2017

  1. I AM SO SO EXCITED FOR ASH AND QUILL!!! The Ink and Bone series is SO underrated and I 100% recommend it. ❤ And hmm, two different synopses for Words in Deep Blue? That's weird. XD I didn't read the blurb of The Last Magician before, but now it sounds so interesting! Basically I want to read all of the books on this list (except I heard that Library of Fates had slight elements of insta-love???). Also, I'm too lazy to check if this one releases in July (90% sure it does), but I'm really excited for Wicked Like A Wildfire!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a feeling the synopsises (is that even a word?) are different because they might be two different publishers/countries? IDK.

      You should’ve totally checked The Last Magician out before! I saw it on NetGalley and was like ‘Yep! I want that.’ didn’t get approved though. xD

      Oh no… not insta-love! :O I don’t want any of that! And I’m so happy to hear you loved the Ink And Bone series! The synopsis sure sounds great and with my very recent appreciation for historical elements in YA definitely has me more excited for it! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel like I’m pretty much over dystopian (I read way too many of them back in the day when Divergent, The Maze Runner, etc was super popular!) but I can’t wait to see how it’s done here! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m SOOOOOO excited for Daughter of the Burning City! I love the purple cover and the story sounds awesome! I’ve seen The Last Magician around in the book community but I don’t really know what it’s about so I’m not sure if I’ll read that anytime soon! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Words in Deep Blue and A Library of Fates are both on my TBR, I am so, so eager to read them sometime soon. I have been hearing fantastic things, especially about the first one, and sweet contemporaries like that are up my alley for sure 🙂 Lovely post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahhh yes so excited for Ash and Quill!! I loved the first book, though I’ve been procrastinating on the second one for some reason?? I can’t wait to see what the last book is like! OH and Words in Deep Blue sounds so amazing as well, and I can’t wait for Daughter of the Burning City!! Cute contemporaries and magical circuses are both so fabulous ahah. 😍

    Like

    1. That is so awesome to hear! I had no real idea about the Ash & Quill books but ever since including the new one in my post, people have been telling me how awesome it is so I’m most definitely excited to get to it – whenever that’ll be.

      Also, thank you for taking the time to read a bunch of my posts and comment on them all! It’s very appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. BAH these all sound so good! Library of Fates is one I am super interested in. Also, ANYTHING THAT INVOLVES THE LIBRARY OF ALEXANDRIA IS MY JAM AND I’M UPSET THAT I DIDN’T KNOW THIS SERIES WAS A THING??? I’m screaming. It’s fine.
    I have an ARC of Words in Deep Blue, but I maybe kind of forgot about it?? Oops… I gotta go read that now 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

