June Wrap Up

Tumblrwrapup

Hello, Everyone! I hope you’re all doing well!

This is a rather short June Wrap Up because – Hello reading slump! I didn’t miss you. You know how it is, right? I do have two wonderful books to talks about with you guys that I really really loved.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

30653853Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is.

This book was so heartwarming and fluffy! After having read quite a bit of fantasy beforehand, I needed something that is fun and quick to read, which is exactly what I got when reading it. Molly is such a wonderful character and I related to her so much, too.

Becky has such a great way of writing these kinds of lighthearted stories with characters you can’t help but love. I’m definitely on board on reading Simon vs. once I get out of this reading slump.

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

23299512

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake.

 

 

Victoria definitely got me sold for her writing with this one. The way she writes her stories is so intricate and kind of almost addictive to read. I love the kind of books that are so good that I can’t put them down. TSS really dived into the theme of good vs evil and what really makes someone a monster and where that thin line can really be drawn.

After I had finished it, I immediately ordered the next book which happened to arrive a bit later than I anticipated but I only got a few pages in before I kinda didn’t feel like reading for a while. I’m hoping to get back into it soon. When it comes to reading there’s always these phases I get into where either I’m reading constantly or not at all.

*Note: No book haul this month except “Our Dark Duet” which is the next book after TSS.

What I posted:

  • 5 Tropes that I want to see more of in YA is a post I really enjoyed writing and it kind of made me think more about the things I value in a book rather than just reading it without thinking about it critically too.
  • The Your Favorite Music Tag: Books & Music! was such a fun tag to do! Your responses really made happy and gave me even more enthusiasm to participate in even more posts like this one.
  • Last but not least, I brought back the Down the TBR hole posts! Down the TBR hole #14 / Again, I’m sorry for the lack of these. However, I’m more excited than ever to be back.

Let me know your favorite book you have read this month?

I wish you all a great weekend!


 

FOLLOW ME ON SOCIAL MEDIA

Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads

 

18 thoughts on “June Wrap Up

  1. Both of these books are on my TBR! I have yet to read a book by VE Schwab but I’m hoping to do that soon! And I want to read Simon VS first before diving into Upside but fingers crossed that I’ll manage to read both this summer 😍 Hope July will be another good reading month for you!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Ahhh I feel so bad about it! *hides* Everyone keeps yelling at me to finally read her books and I’m like YES OKAY I WILL BUT ONLY IF YOU BUY THEM FOR ME. But I really really reallyyyy want to read the ADSOM series, I feel like I’m going to ADORE the characters!

        Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m so glad I picked up TSS after such a long time of wanting to do it. I’m sure you’ll love her writing as much as I do. I really want to read Simon vs even more now that there’s gonna be a movie of it. I’m definitely planning on getting back into things this month!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I pretty much finished the audiobook of SImon VS in a night and I absolutely LOVED it and while I did enjoy Becky’s The Upside Of Unrequited I think Simon was MUCH better and I’m so happy I finally read it because I’m now super stoked for more of Becky’s books!

        Liked by 2 people

    2. DUDE. You NEED to get on Simon VS. – I know I yelled at you earlier about the Schwab books, no. Get to Simon first! That one was so much fun and I couldn’t stop listening to the audiobook and basically finished the book in one night. The book and writing was just THAT good. And I wasn’t a huge fan of Upside but now I am HOOKED on Becky’s writing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahahahaha it’s fine you can keep yelling at me 😂 ahhhh do you have Audible? I never listen to audiobooks because I don’t know which subscription is the best (and I’m poor too XD) but I really want to try it out! And I’m super pumped to read Becky’s books I love her as a person!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, I recently tried a free trial and then when they had a super awesome deal at the end of June (3 months for 4,95€ each) I jumped on it! And I’m still trying to decide if I’m going to keep it once those three months are over or not.

        I haven’t really followed Becky much but I think I saw some of her threads around the time The Upside was released and those were definitely pretty awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so happy to hear that you were at least able to finish and really enjoy two books this month! And now that you’ve read This Savage Song, I feel like I really need to get to it already so we can talk about it soon! Hopefully that reading slump of yours goes away soon so you can continue reading Our Dark Duet and any and every other book you have your eyes on!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Swetlana! I really appreciate your support but you already know that ;). I hope you’ll get to it! I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as much as I did. Yeah, I want to get back into things.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ugh, reading slumps are the worst!! At least the two books you read this month were amazing ones?! 😀 The Upside of Unrequited and This Savage Song are both such incredible reads and are from two of my favourite authors as well. ❤ I'm so glad you loved them! I really need to read Our Dark Duet now though haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I really don’t like this feeling of not wanting to read but I’m trying to get back into it. I definitely want to finish Our Dark Duet this month! Hopefully I’ll get to that.

      Like

  4. I read This Savage Song as well! It was SOO good, and the messages were amazing. Schwab is definitely an amazing author! And Upside has been on my TBR for a long time! I don’t think I’ll enjoy it as much as Simon Vs., but I will probably still like it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

