Celebrating 6 Months Of Blogging: Favorite Moments So Far

favorite momentsWelcome to the second celebratory post this week! I hope you guys enjoyed getting know Sandra and myself a bit more in the Q&As we posted on Tuesday (thanks for all of your lovely questions!) and today we’ll be talking about some of our favorite moments from the past six months of blogging!

The First Follower And Every Milestone Since


I honestly think one of my favorite moments blogging wise was the very first person deciding to give us a chance by following our blog! It was probably within the first few days and we really had no idea what we were doing or where we wanted this blog to go but the fact that someone followed us was really awesome and we were no longer talking to just us in our posts – which was also really fun! And every follower milestone since has been so exciting and you guys’ support has been really great! Thank you to all 177 of you for following our blog and interacting with us on here! We appreciate you with everything we’ve got! 

Meeting So Many Great Bloggers


This really went hand in hand with our audience growing and us reaching out more and discovering so many more book blogs and great bloggers who I’ve really come to appreciate over the months!

It’s so much fun to get to talk to you guys about the books we love (or hate), to share upcoming releases and seeing you guys’ excitement or seeing the books you are excited about and adding them to my TBR too (which clearly isn’t long enough yet) or to just simply fangirl over characters and books! It’s been a great few months and I am so excited to see what the future has in store for all of us!

Following some of you guys on Twitter has also been a great way to get to know you better! I feel like Twitter is a bit more of an instant connection? I am usually much more likely to reply to a random tweet by one of you guys with something than leaving a comment when I’m not 100% sure what to say.

Discovering So Many Great Books


I am 100% convinced that I probably wouldn’t have heard about some of the books currently on my TBR if it wasn’t for joining the book community! I’m really glad I decided to do monthly release posts because it got me to look at all of the upcoming releases and introduced me to some really great books! And just reading about the books you guys love so much has lead me to add books to my TBR too! 

And with so many great books to discover, my TBR has obviously grown quite a bit (even though I try to keep it relatively short and filled with books I am still interested in) and I’m so happy about that too! There are simply too many books out there that I haven’t heard about and blogging gives me the chance to hear about them and possibly fall in love with them – and what kind of bookworm would I be if that wouldn’t excite me?

Getting Approved For That Very First (Physical) ARC


This little blog of ours was still very young when I got approved for my first eARC and I remember being so excited that a publicist decided to give me the chance to read an ARC even though I was a pretty new blogger with a small following – it meant a lot to me. I think it also gave me the confidence to ask for other books that sounded interesting to me and not get discouraged whenever a request would be denied (which happens a ridiculous amount of times because I sometimes ignore the fact that publishers want US based bloggers/reviewers – the struggles of an international blogger) and just continue on writing reviews of books I already owned and continue to (hopefully) get better at reviewing.

But I think what got me even more excited (because a part of me feels like ARCs are some weird sort of validation for myself as a blogger – I blame myself for watching all those booktubers talking about all the ARCs they get sent for this) was when I saw that I got approved for my first physical review copy (which wasn’t an ARC but a finished copy of a book)!

Interacting With Authors On Social Media


Apart from getting to interact with all of you guys on a daily basis, I think interacting with authors on social media has been one of the most fun experiences of becoming a blogger for me! I mean, obviously I could’ve tweeted an author before too – they are on all of those platforms after all, but I always felt weird about it for some reason. I would never tweet anyone because I was afraid I had no place to do so? 

But apparently (in my head) my blog gave me a reason to talk to authors? It almost felt like I was ‘someone’  – rather than ‘just’ a fan trying to talk to an author.

I’ve been much more open about my love for authors for the past few months and I actually reply to their tweets, tweet them myself about something awesome they’ve done or about how much I love their work and I think I’m finally out of that headspace of ‘needing validation’ to be able to talk to these awesome human beings. 

Getting To Six Months Of Blogging


I feel like Sandra and I both have said this quite a few times, but we honestly started this blog on such a whim with no real plan and look at where we are now! We’ve officially been blogging for six months now! Six months! Never did I think we’d get to this point. Especially after that first month of barely posting. We’ve learned quite a bit over the past few months and I can’t wait to share some of my tips with you guys in the upcoming week! 

Weirdly, in a way, it’s also validating to have been doing this for six months? It feels like I can officially consider myself a blogger now that I have put time, effort and money (books, unfortunately, aren’t free) into this blog!

Seeing All Of Our Hard Work Pay Off


Sandra and I have both invested quite a bit of time into this blog and to see all of it pay off (not literally, obviously) is really great and I am so thankful that you guys are enjoying our blog so far and are always willing to leave feedback in some shape or form!

These days, whenever I have a day where I have the motivation to write post after post and spend all day doing it, I know it’ll pay off in the end. I get to write fun posts and you guys are hopefully going to enjoy them too!


To be honest with you guys, I kept putting writing this post off day after day because I almost didn’t want to write it in a way? I feel like I come off as someone who cares too much about numbers and other outer influences and like I need all of that to validate my status as a blogger – which I don’t. At least not to the extent it comes off in this post.

But at the same time, I don’t want to take out any of these moments because they have been great and have given me that push I might have needed some days to continue on blogging and to try and improve. I guess we all care about some of these outer influences to a certain degree, so maybe you’ll be able to relate to some of what I talked about.


What has your experience with blogging been like? What are some of your favorite moments? Do you let outer influences get to you and change the way you feel about blogging and yourself as a blogger? Please share in the comments below and let’s talk about it! I am honestly really curious to hear about how you guys feel about these things!


Follow Me On Social Media


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

9 thoughts on “Celebrating 6 Months Of Blogging: Favorite Moments So Far

  1. Agh, I totally agree with you! I was really hopeful that I would have a good blog with steady followers — but I never would’ve imagined how much my blog would grow! The work has definitely paid off — but I still need to pick up the courage to ask for ARCs! XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should 100% go for it, May! That first initial step is definitely the most difficult but once you’ve done that, it’ll be much easier! And you might discover some seriously awesome books that way! I know I have!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy six months of blogging, this is such a great accomplishment and I hope there’ll be more and more months and years to come 😀 ❤
    I can so relate to all of these things, even if numbers aren't and should not be the most important thing in book bloggers' minds, it's always great to reach another milestone and see our blog grow, even if it's better to see it grow in terms of new books and new friendships for sure 🙂
    Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Marie! I hope so too and I’m sure Sandra does too! 😀

      I definitely agree with you! I couldn’t be more excited that I started this blog and at some point decided to request ARCs because that has led me to some of my favorite books already this year and I’m not sure I would’ve read them otherwise – or even known about them in the first place! And from there it got to me reading more of an author’s work and suddenly realizing that ‘Oh, wait! I do actually love their writing and want to read more!’ and that’s been so awesome!

      And yes to the friendships! It’s been really fun getting to know new people and getting to share the love of reading with so many of them! 🙂 Though I do suck at reaching out to people beyond comments – most of the time.

      Thank you! 🙂

      Like

  3. Congratulations on making it to 6 months! I was pretty much the same as you both – I started my blog on a complete whim without thinking much about it and what I wanted to do with it, so every time I hit one of these kinds of anniversaries or milestones, I’m amazed that I’ve stuck with it for so long, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

