5 Series I Would Like To Start – But Haven’t Yet

5 series i havent started yetHey, Everyone! I think we all have series sitting on our shelves or ones that we have had our eyes on for so long but we’ve always picked up something else or forgot about them? This kind of post is going to be about 5 Series I would like to start. So, let’s get into it, shall we? Note: Feel free to let me know your opinions of these if you read them!

 

12954620In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

I have talked about this series before but I don’t think I actually explained the reasons why I want to read it. I’ve always been into fantasy be it books or TV Shows/Movies I like to watch because I love the idea of making magic a reality and playing around with so many different kinds of species and characters that comes with.

Falling Kingdoms certainly gives me all of that and I’m not gonna lie it kinda reminds me of Throne of Glass. It’s that whole theme of empires and kingdoms that’s just so fun to read about for me which is one of the many reasons I enjoy these kinds of books so much.

22055262Kell is one of the last Antari—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel Londons; Red, Grey, White, and, once upon a time, Black.

Kell was raised in Arnes—Red London—and officially serves the Maresh Empire as an ambassador, traveling between the frequent bloody regime changes in White London and the court of George III in the dullest of Londons, the one without any magic left to see.

 

Both of us have been gushing about this Series for the past few months and I’m still as stoked for it was I was at all the other times. Just the idea of being able to travel in-between different worlds is so awesome to me and to combine that with magic makes it even better.

Reading that synopsis just makes me think about Doctor Who a bit although they time travel there but it’s like this cool element of Science Fiction that I really find so appealing about ADSOM. Having read “This Savage Song” a week ago, I can totally say I’m sold on her writing already. So, this is definitely high on my list of books I want to read this summer/this year.

10576365

When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something frightening enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that got her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that had killed most of America’s children, but she and the others emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they could not control.

I haven’t read much dystopian until this point and this gives me chance to do something about that and I really want to explore that world that we have in this series. Hearing such great things about these books certainly makes me want to read it even more but you know how it is when you’re a mood reader.

With a disease threatening to wipe out humans it really reminds me of The Lunar Chronicles where they had the plague that killed thousands of people. Bringing that concept into a dystopian novel is really interesting to read about. It’s that whole idea of how do we find a cure for this? And how did the main character survive this disease? Can she do something special? Is she different from everyone else? How does that impact the world around her?

10194157Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

It goes without saying how much I loved Six of Crows and that has kind of made me want to instantly pick up all of her books because it was that good. The way she puts these stories together is so thrilling to read about and the way she built this world in SOC/SAB and kind of put them together but in separate novels is really cool. It kind of gives you, even more, knowledge of the Grisha and how their government works.

I’ve loved her character Nina Zenik from SOC so much and I can’t wait to get to read about even more of her kind and see how their different abilities work. Exploring more of Ravka because that wasn’t really explored in SOC (understandably). Ketterdam is already a really cool city and the world that she has built.

and i darken

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

That description sounds so interesting. I love the idea of having a main character that’s sort of an anti-hero type of thing. In SOC we’ve met these kinds of characters and I really want to read more books that explore a different kind of side than the usual savior kind of heroes that are compassionate and kind and struggle with their dark side.

Swetlana has been recommending me this and I trust her taste so I’m definitely game for this. Hopefully, I can pick this up during the summer seeing as the newest book has just been released (at the time you’re reading this).

Let me know what series you’ve been wanting to pick up for a while and why!


 

FOLLOW ME ON SOCIAL MEDIA

Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads

7 thoughts on “5 Series I Would Like To Start – But Haven’t Yet

  1. Oh yes, PLEASE read the Shades of Magic trilogy! ACOL was damaging but SOOOO good! I’m not sure I want to read Shadow and Bone? It sounds good but I love SoC SOOO much that I’d be really disappointed if I didn’t like that one. :/ The Darkest Minds and The Conquerer’s Saga are series I’m considering!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yes, I definitely recommend reading the Shades of Magic trilogy ASAP! The series just kept getting better as it went on. I wasn’t a huge fan of the Grisha trilogy despite LOVING Six of Crows but that’s definitely not a popular opinion so I hope you enjoy it! The new editions are to die for.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will once my reading slump goes away, haha! Yeah I’ve heard mixed things about that trilogy but I won’t let it stop me. Everyone feels different about every book so it’s fine. They are! I already own copies so I won’t be getting them, at least not now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

