8 Tips For New Bloggers

8 tips new bloggersSandra and I recently celebrated our six months blogging anniversary and to be quite honest with you guys, I had no idea where this blogging thing would go for us and if we’d stick with it and more importantly: how long we would stick with it! Some of you may know that we pretty much started this blog on a whim at the beginning of 2017 and figured we would just see where this was going and what a ride it has been so far! I figured I have learned a thing or two in my six months of blogging and I wanted to share some tips with you guys!

#1: Use Reader Friendly Themes

This is something that varies for all of us as we all like different things in themes, but I think as a general rule you should try to use a white or light gray background and a dark gray font for your text – that’s usually what I find easiest to read. You want to make sure that someone who visits your blog for the first time is going to have the best first impression possible and the look of your blog is definitely going to influence that a lot!

I really like Jackie’s current theme, May has a really fun theme too, Analee’s is really fun too and I am a huge fan of the really simple and clean designs of Beth and Jess’ blogs! There are definitely a lot more great blogs out there but these people popped up in my head really quickly when I was thinking about themes I really enjoy!


#2: Be Consistent

I think the biggest mistake we made when we first started blogging was being really inconsistent. If you check out this graphic below, you’ll see that we barely posted in January and then really went at it starting February which absolutely helped with getting more traffic and people were also more willing to follow our blog because they knew they could expect new content regularly!

posts

We did change things up again in April because Sandra would be really busy with school and it wasn’t as easy keeping up seven posts per week as it was before, but we made sure to let everyone know we’d be switching up our schedule and it worked out perfectly for everyone involved, I think!

stats


#3: Invest The Time

Blogging is going to take quite some time out of your day and I feel like if you want to do it for many months to come, you definitely have to invest time into your blog! And you won’t just be spending time writing your blog posts – oh no! That’s just one aspect of blogging. You’ll be reading books, reviewing books, (hopefully) looking for new people to follow, reading a ton of blog posts and leaving comments and all of that is going to take time. So much of it, sometimes. But it’s also really rewarding to see that time investment pay off!

Whenever someone leaves a lovely comment on a post you worked hard on,Β you get really excited! Whenever someone decides to follow your blog because they enjoy what you’re posting it’s like someone patted you on the shoulder and said ‘Good job! Keep doing what you’re doing! I really like it!’. Those are still things I get really excited about each day!


#4: Interact With The Community

I feel like a majority of us started our blogs because we wanted to be able to share our love for books with like-minded people, right? So, once you’ve got your blog all set up get out there and interact with people! Leave lovely comments on blog posts, follow people if you enjoy their content (but please don’t expect everyone to follow you back) and check out other people who commented on the same posts as you – that’s the quickest way to find new people! I know I would spend hours looking through comment sections for new blogs to check out and I found some really great people thanks to it!


#5: Join Weekly Memes

When Sandra and I first started out blogging, we tried to participate in both Top Ten Tuesdays and Top 5 Wednesdays as often as we could. These two memes offered link ups and it was a great way to find new blogs to read and also to get our blog out there and we had a lot of fun doing them while we participated!

Joining weekly memes also gives you an idea on what to post on a particular day as there are given themes/topics for each week which is really great when you might be stuck for ideas – or you can plan ahead and write the posts early and not worry about having no posts going up on a Tuesday or Wednesday!


#6: Get On A Posting Schedule

Posting schedules really are such a great thing and can definitely help you lessen the amount of stress that you put on yourself! Because once you know how often you want to post and maybe also what you want to post on any given day, you can work towards those goals! It will also give your readers an idea of what to expect from your blog and how often to expect it!

Sandra and I have obviously tried quite a few things and (at least for me) having a posting schedule has been really fun so far – even though I have my moments of doubt sometimes! But overall it’s really great and gives everyone involved a better idea of what to expect!


#7: Plan Ahead – Or Plan In General

Once we realized that things just weren’t working out for us the way we were doing them in January, Sandra and I sat down and talked about what we wanted to change and we came up with a plan for February and then slowly worked our way through each month coming up with blogging ideas as time went on and it definitely was one of the best things we could’ve done!

At first, we even planned out each week to make sure we didn’t have too much of the same type of post going up as we wanted to offer our readers a variety of posts to look forward to each month and I think that worked out really well for us at the time! Nowadays, we just schedule the posts we want to write and work from there. Though I have to admit, I kind of miss ‘the good old days’.

Planning ahead is also going to come in really handy when things get really hectic with school or work and you just simply don’t have the time to work on new content! This post is actually being written about a month before it’s going to go up on the blog and everything leading up to its publication day is already planned out too. I basically blame Mikaela for this. She is always super organized and makes me want to step up my game!


#8: Don’t Be Afraid Of Change

I feel like this is always the one thing I want to tell new bloggers and usually the advice I’ll share whenever someone asks for tips for new bloggers: don’t be afraid of change! You might not know too much when you’re going into blogging or you might think you know exactly how you want things to go but then you realize that it’s just not working out or that you’re not enjoying what you’re doing. Change things up!

Try a different posting schedule or get on one if you don’t have one yet. Look for ideas for posts you can do – there are so many places out there offering all kinds of blogging ideas! Change up your theme! I don’t know how often I have changed the look of things (not just blog-wise) because I was unhappy about something and it really helped!


What do you guys think? Are there any more tips you would give to new bloggers? Do you agree or disagree with some of the tips I have shared? Let’s discuss in the comments below!


Follow Me On Social Media


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Tumblr

26 thoughts on “8 Tips For New Bloggers

  1. Great tips! I think “be consistent” is the best piece of advice. For a couple months my posts were all over the place. It was a mess! Haha. I also found that setting aside specific times to work on posts etc helped. Trying to do it just when I “had time” didn’t work. Now I have a set time in my calendar dedicated to this. Has worked for me at least.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, definitely! We definitely saw it in our own motivation to blog and people being willing to read once we were more consistent!

      I am definitely of the ‘when I have time/motivation’ sort and will usually write multiple posts on one weekend and schedule them ahead of time, so I know we’re all covered and stuff. Mikaela from The Well Thumbed Reader really got me into writing and scheduling ahead of time as far as possible!

      Like

  2. I totally agree with all of these points! Especially interacting, planning ahead, and having a good theme. The aesthetic of your blog can make people decide whether to stay and read on, or just leave! And if you don’t interact with the people in the community, they don’t want to interact with YOU. Planning ahead has become SOOO helpful, especially in posting consistently! Thanks for linking to me and great post. ❀

    Like

    1. I feel like, for me, the aesthetic of a blog is the most important aspect as it’s the first thing I see and if it’s not appealing to me? Chances of me taking the time to have a look around are definitely smaller!

      I’ve recently gotten back into interacting with the community a lot more on Twitter and Instagram too and it’s been so much fun again! Interaction really is key!

      You’re welcome! I really love your blog and design! And thank you so much, May! Glad to hear you enjoyed the post!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh congratulations both of you on reaching your six month blogiversary. It always seems really special when you finally reach a milestone like that, and the time between now and your one year blogiversary will likely fly by! πŸ˜€
    Also this is great advice. I’m not sure I’ve see many people talk about reader friendly themes before but it is a main one (also thanks for featuring my blog in this post, it really means a lot to me :D) no one’s going to check out your blog or posts if they’re unreadable. I don’t have a posting schedule, but that works for me, I guess with most people having set days works better. These are all great tips, and this is a great post as well. πŸ™‚ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Beth! I feel like this year has been running from me as is, so I 100% agree with you that our one-year blogiversary will probably be here in the blink of an eye!

      You’re very welcome! I really love your current design and theme (obviously, since I went it with for our new theme) because it’s so clean and super easy to read!

      Thank you, Beth! Happy to hear you enjoyed i! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, and yeah I know that feeling. Where has this year gone right? Do you have anything special planned for your one year milestone yet?
        Thanks again, and yes actually today was the first time I’d seen your new design and I love it so much. It looks amazing Swetlana. πŸ™‚ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not yet! Sandra and I haven’t really talked about it yet but I think we might do some kind of giveaway or a series of blog posts kind of similar to what we did this time around but probably focus on a different topic. Our blogiversary is just a week after Christmas, so I think it would be really fun to do something around then to celebrate. πŸ™‚

        Thank you, Beth! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much for mentioning my blog, I feel so honoured ❀️❀️

    And I agree with all of your advice! I wish I had known some of these things when I first started blogging! Being consistent DEFINITELY helps! I used to post like one review a week and I wouldn’t get many interactions πŸ˜‚ but I think as you continue blogging and try new stuff, you will see what works for you! And what doesn’t!

    One thing that I think is super important too is to be yourself! When I first started, I restrained myself in every single one of my posts and I never let out my inner fangirl! But then I found other blogs who weren’t afraid to fangirl and post in all caps and stuff so I knew that it was okay πŸ˜‚

    I don’t really know where I’m going with this comment haha but this was a brilliant post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome, Jackie! I obviously enjoy your blog a lot so giving a quick shout out here and there is something I love doing! πŸ™‚

      I feel like I read through a million different posts giving blogging advice when we first started out, but I had also had some previous experience from my older blogs so I kind of knew what I was doing. But I’ve also changed quite a few things since. And I definitely agree with you, the more new stuff you try out the easier it’s going to be to find out what works for you.

      How did I forget all about that??? I am a huge fan of people who are unafraid of fangirling and going all caps in their posts! It’s always so much fun to read those kinds of posts!

      Thank you so much, Jackie! So happy to hear you enjoyed it! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ❀️❀️❀️

        Omg I didn’t know you had a blog before? Was it on WordPress too or somewhere else?

        Hahaha yes those must be some of my faves to read! They’re so much fun and you can really see the personality of the person behind the blog!

        You’re so very welcome!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It was actually self-hosted and everything! I had met a bunch of people online through a different website and we kind of all moved over to blogs and stuff after a little while.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. [ Smiles ] Now, I would like to believe that the majority of themes on WordPress are user friendly.

    One of my biggest pet peeves is, when a blogger uses ridiculously small fonts in the text body of their blog (Apparently, those bloggers did not think that other people would like to read the articles that they published).

    Yes, a posting schedule is highly recommended for new bloggers.

    It was a pleasure reading your blogging tips!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve definitely come across themes that were user-friendly to begin with but were then edited in a way that made it more difficult because of the colors used, etc.

      Thank you, happy to hear you enjoyed them!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. These are some amazing tips! I especially agree about being consistent and interacting with the community. It’s so so important, and something I never did or shied from when I first started out. But eventually I started posting more and more, and talking and communicating with others, and it has helped my blog grow so much πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Anushka!

      I have had so much more fun blogging and being a part of the book community since I started talking to people more – especially on Twitter! And commenting and talking to people on their blogs definitely helped grow our blog too. πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Great tips, I agree with so many of these, especially interaction. It’s what makes blogging fun after all πŸ™‚ Being consistent definitely helps in growing your blog for sure, but no one should ever be afraid of taking a break either, otherwise you just loooose your mind ahah. Great post! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you so much for these tips, I have had my blog for a few months now but because I have to Wi-Fi from my aunt next-door and since so many people live with them out internet connection isn’t reliable. This causes me to non consistent but were getting internet soon so I will be able to have consistent schedule and these tips will be super helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy to hear these tips were helpful for you!

      Being consistent isn’t about posting a certain amount of posts each week, if you posted a post a week every week that would be just as consistent and people would know what to expect! Don’t stress yourself out too much over it – everyone has different circumstances to work with. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

