How BookTube Influenced My Blogging

how booktube influenced my bloggingUpdate: I just want to take a quick second to say a very, very big thank you to all of you guys who have followed our blog recently and have gotten us over that 200 followers mark! You guys are truly awesome and I can’t wait for all of you to see what we’ve coming your way in the future! Thank you!

This post is coming to you guys as an after effect of my post about my favorite blogging moments so far and some of the things I talked about in there. Because as I was talking about those moments, I realized how much of what I thought made a book blogger a book blogger was influenced by what I had seen booktubers do and what I have come to expect to see from a booktuber (in a way).

I was first introduced to the booktube community when I stumbled upon Jesse, Christine and Kat’s channels years ago and then slowly started watching more booktubers. I kept seeing these people get ARCs from all of these different publishing houses so they could promote the books on their channels later and I kept seeing all of their book hauls that featured all of these new releases each month and people loved this kind of content.

In a way, seeing that and more over all of the years made me think that it is the kind of content I need to be posting because it’s what people seem to enjoy so much on booktube. But more than that, it makes me feel like I need to be able to get ARCs (preferably physical ARCs) to be considered a blogger?

Which I know isn’t true, because I am doing all of these things bloggers do already: I brainstorm, write, edit, format and publish posts on our blog multiple times a week. Rationally, I also know that booktubers don’t need ARCs to be considered a legit booktuber, they do all of the things already! And despite all of that, some part of me still thinks that ARCs are an important aspect of being a blogger.

But then again, why am I allowing booktube to influence the way I approach my blog and the way I feel about things on here? These are two different platforms and I shouldn’t give one so much power over how I view the other.

People always say to do things the way you want to do them as that is the best way to continue having fun while doing it. And that’s definitely an advice I try to take to heart, but it’s not always easy – that’s for sure.

As I am typing this, I’m also starting to think that maybe it’s a combination of two things that make me want some sort of validation as a blogger: what I have seen on booktube but also something more personal that I’m not sure I’m willing to talk about quite yet but is related to the way I view myself in the profession (which isn’t related to blogging in any kind of way) I chose for myself and my progress in getting to that end goal.

It’s almost like I’m trying to make up for my lack of progressing in one aspect of my life by searching for validation within blogging by comparing numbers (followers, views, comments, ARCs someone is getting, etc) with others in this community. Which probably isn’t the best way to go about blogging – but it seems like that’s where my head is at right now.

I want to make it 100% clear that I love blogging and especially these past few days I have been so excited to read new books and I am excited for what is yet to come, but sometimes I have days where I feel like I might not be doing enough or like I’m not doing it well enough, etc. Self-doubt isn’t a fun thing to experience, that I have learned in my 20s (and I’m still trying to deal with it, to be completely honest).

This post is a bit all over the place and I do want to apologize for it. I just felt like I needed to put some of these thoughts to paper as a way of processing them. I want to be able to look back at this post at some point in the future and realize that I’ve since changed my outlook on these things and that I can be the kind of blogger I want to be without putting all that pressure on myself. I hope you guys don’t mind too much!


Do you guys ever feel like the way you view yourself as a blogger and bloggers, in general, is influenced by things like booktube? Do you ever feel like you should be posting certain types of posts on your blog?  Let’s discuss in the comments below and see how the community feels about this!


Follow Me On Social Media


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

12 thoughts on “How BookTube Influenced My Blogging

  1. I don’t watch booktube but I really should get into it haha! I haven’t gotten any ARCs yet (hoping to get into it soon) so I feel like that part isn’t necessary to being a blogger??? Though it’s quite a plus. 😉 And hmm, that’s really insightful — about “failing” in one part of your life so trying to find validation in another! Hope everything’s okay. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ARCs obviously aren’t part of being a blogger but it definitely is a fun addition and if you’re lucky you discover some really, really great books! 🙂

      Everything definitely is! I was probably having one of my nights when everything is a bit ‘meh’ while I was writing that post. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I found Goodreads when I searched a book title online, after I was there for a short time I ended up coming upon Sasha Alsberg’s page. From there I discovered booktube, this was such an inspiring post and I can’t wait to see more from you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t watch booktube at all but it was so interesting to hear your point about this and how it all influenced you 🙂 I get it all so well about self-doubt, numbers and everything, but what matters the most is that you enjoy what you are doing and you should seek validation and self-love in that fact that you are doing awesome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For me, booktube – more than anything else, probably, was the introduction into the blogging community and has definitely influenced me quite a bit over the years.

      I will definitely try to keep that in mind more often when I’m feeling a bit down again! Thank you for your kind words, Marie! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I wouldn’t say I feel necessarily pressured as such, but I feel like a lot of people expect a book blog to be at the forefront of reviewing new releases. I get the vast majority of my books from the library so a lot of them have been out for a long while and I sometimes feel that people won’t want to read my reviews if they’re not up and coming books, if that makes sense? I try not to let these things dictate what I do though and just write what I love! I loved this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is SO true! And I completely understand you too! I live in Germany and unless it’s an absolutely NEED TO HAVE THIS book by an author I really love, I probably won’t be reading/reviewing new releases immediately either. But I definitely feel like it’s what is expected of book bloggers!

      Thank you, I’m really happy to hear that you loved this post! I was a bit worried about posting it, to be honest!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

