New Releases: August 2017

august releases

Can you guys believe that we’re already talking about August releases??? We’re more than halfway through 2017 already and I have no idea where all that time went? Seriously, the older you get the faster time seems to be moving along!

August also marks the release of one of my most anticipated releases for the second half of 2017 and the start of some ridiculously exciting releases yet to come (I swear, my September and October releases posts will be HUGE) and I’m already trying to figure out how I’m going to read all the books while also making sure to eat, sleep and spend time with the people I love. But it’s gonna be difficult.

But enough chit-chat, let’s get into what you guys are all here for: the upcoming releases!

Release Date: 1st August


the listThe List by Patricia Forde

I first saw the cover of The List on NetGalley and was immediately drawn in and had to check out what this book was all about. The List is a Dystopian Middle-Grade novel about a world where speech is constricted to 500 words and only the Wordsmith and his apprentice Letta are excluded from these restrictions. When the Wordsmith dies and Letta has to fill his shoes, she realizes there is a plan in play to suppress language and rob the citizens of their power of speech. 

This is such an interesting premise and I honestly can’t wait to read this book – hopefully, sooner rather than later! There is another book on this month’s list with a similar premise – apparently, that really intrigued me this month!

Release Date: 8th August


little & lionLittle & Lion by Brandy Colbert

Little & Lion tells the story of Suzette, a girl who just got home from boarding school and her step-brother Lionel who has recently been diagnosed with bipolar disorder. As Suzette settles into her old life she quickly finds herself falling for the same girl that her brother has a crush on. When Lionel’s disorder spirals out of control, Suzette has to face her past mistakes and find a way to help her brother before he hurts himself.

I haven’t really hurt too much about this book so far, but when I first saw it on NetGalley I was definitely interested so I added it to my Goodreads shelf for August releases. I’m definitely curious to see how this story plays out!

Release Date: 22nd August


wings unseenWings Unseen by Rebecca Gomez Farrell

To be honest with you guys, I have no idea how to summarize the plot of Wings Unseen? There’s political intrigue, magic and people being forced to work together to save the world from an unknown danger. I got this off NetGalley’s Read Now section, hoping to read it before the release but haven’t had a chance to get to it yet – but I’m hoping on reading and reviewing it before it’s release to give you guys more of an idea what this is all about! 

Release Date: 29th August


wonder womanWonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo

I feel like everyone in the book community has probably already heard about Wonder Woman: Warbringer a million times and might even be sick and tired of hearing about it, but guess what? You’ll have to hear about it on my blog too! I love Leigh Bardugo and will read pretty much anything she releases and with the recent release of the Wonder Woman movie and all the hype surrounding it, my excitement for this book just went through the god damn roof! I can’t wait to see how Leigh writes Diana’s story and she once again features a bigger girl in her cast of characters and I am freaking excited and ready to read all about Nim and the rest of Diana’s crew!

mask of shadowsMask Of Shadows by Linsey Miller

Mask Of Shadows features a genderfluid main character, Sal, who is a thief and one day steals a flyer for an audition to become a member of The Left Hand – a group of assassins. Sal’s previous experience hasn’t prepared them for the audition but as Sal succeeds in these trials, they realize that they want a different kind of life which they can only get close to by staying alive.

This book is marketed towards fans of both Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo and with the synopsis of Mask Of Shadows I can definitely see the references to SJM books, so I’m definitely interested in checking this out! I wish I was accepted for this eARC so I could’ve read it early! 😦

all rights reservedAll Rights Reserved by Gregory Scott Katsoulis

Remember how I said there was a second book on this month’s list with a similar premise to The List? Well, All Rights Reserved is that book! I’m just going to include a short description from Goodreads here to let you guys know what this is all about:

In a world where every word and gesture is copyrighted, patented or trademarked, one girl elects to remain silent rather than pay to speak, and her defiant and unexpected silence threatens to unravel the very fabric of society.

The synopsis for this book sounds so freaking interesting and the idea of defying everything your world is built upon by staying silent is so intriguing. I need this book as soon as possible. Why do I have to wait so much longer for this???


How about you guys? What are some of your upcoming August releases that you’re really excited about? Are some of these books on your lists too? Or have you had the chance to read any of them early and can share thoughts? The comment section is awaiting you guys! 😉


Follow Me On Social Media


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

7 thoughts on “New Releases: August 2017

    1. Ah, I’m so excited to hear that! I feel like I haven’t heard too much negativity about Mask Of Shadows so I definitely can’t wait to get to it!

      AND YES TO NEW BARDUGO BOOKS. I would read anything she writes! I can’t wait to see her writing something outside of the Grisha universe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

