Mini Reviews: Simon, Dimple And Monty

mini review simon dimple and montyToday’s review is going to be a bit different as I’m going to be reviewing three books at the same time! Woop! Mainly, I didn’t feel like writing full out reviews because I think they might end up sounding similar and no one wants to read or write that, so we’re doing mini reviews of some of my most recent reads!

But before I fully jump into this post, I wanted to ask you guys a quick question: Do you prefer reading full on reviews or do you prefer reading quick mini reviews of multiple books in one post? I’ve made it my goal to review more books this year and I’m currently trying to decide how to best do that without posting too many reviews! You guys’ input would be highly appreciated! Now, let’s get into these reviews!


simon vs the homo sapiens agenda
Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

If you’ve been following our blog for a couple of months, you might remember that I read and reviewed Becky Albertalli’s most recent release The Upside Of Unrequited earlier this year. Unlike so many other people, I didn’t love the book and I was pretty sure that I wouldn’t pick up another book by Albertalli because of it, but then I randomly decided to get the audiobook of Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda at the beginning of the month and I pretty much listened to the entire thing in one night. I seriously couldn’t stop!

Becky’s writing was so great in Simon VS and I loved how she included social media in this book – I feel like if you set a book in today’s day and age you can’t really get around social media, especially in contemporary novels! I was also a big fan of Simon’s and Blue’s emails that they were sending each other throughout the novel! I kept trying to figure out who Blue was, just like Simon and didn’t get it until pretty late. Even though I had been spoiled a bit by the movie.

I feel like this is a great book to be reading while laying out in the sun or to listen to while you’re out and about soaking in that summer air and sunshine! I’m pretty sure that I’m going to go back to this audiobook whenever I want something fun and quick to read/listen to!

After finishing this book, I am also 100% ready for more of Becky’s book and actually can’t wait for her next release all about the character Leah!


when dimple met rishi
When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Since I had just finished and really enjoyed a contemporary novel, I figured I might as well chose another one as my next read and went with When Dimple Met Rishi which has been on my TBR for quite a while now and I’m so glad I finally got to it!

This book is a fun rom-com in book form and I couldn’t have been happier listening to this! As with Simon VS, I pretty much finished this in one night.

I really enjoyed getting a look into two characters different views on their shared culture and expectations put upon them. Dimple and Rishi have such contrasting opinions on the expectations put on them by their parents and I loved seeing them come together and explore those differences while also growing as individuals!

Another little aspect of this book I really loved was the references to Bollywood! I used to watch any and all of the Bollywood movies they would air here in Germany and I absolutely loved them, so to see them included in this book was really fun! I feel like pretty much everyone knows who Shah Rukh Khan is, so seeing him mentioned wasn’t as exciting as seeing Priyanka Chopra’s name pop – I’ve come to really love her since watching Quantico!

If you’re a big rom-com fan and want to read or listen to something that is gonna bring you all of the feelings a rom-com movie would check this book out!


the gentlemans guide to vice and virtue
The Gentleman’s Guide To Vice And Virtue by Mackenzie Lee

The last book we’re going to talk about today is Mackenzie Lee’s The Gentleman’s Guide To Vice And Virtue! I feel like this book has been pretty much everywhere since it was released late last month and everyone was reading it and fangirling over Monty and Percy – naturally I had to check out what the hype was all about!

And I did really, really enjoy this book from pretty much the get-go and Monty had me laughing out loud with his dramatics from the very beginning! And I don’t usually laugh out loud when I read books. Nope. I will cry, but not laugh so that’s definitely something!

Monty, his friend Percy and sister Felicity go off on a Grand Tour of the European continent and get themselves into quite the situations throughout the entire book and even though things are constantly happening, I found myself enjoying the book less and less the closer to the end I got. Which really sucked, because it started off so well and I was sure I would love this book so much more! And I honestly still don’t quite know what didn’t work for me?

I’ve started to wonder if maybe I wasn’t entirely in the right mood to read this book? Because even though I finished reading this within four days, something seems to have changed towards the end of those four days which lead me to not enjoy this book as much anymore. I am most definitely going to give this another try though because the majority of this was absolutely up my alley!


And with that, I wrap up my thoughts on three of my recent reads that I’m really happy with overall because I quite enjoyed myself while reading them and they have definitely made me excited for all of these authors upcoming books which is always a great feeling! I’ve already added Leah On The Offbeat, When Ashish Met Sweetie, From Twinkle, With Love and The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy to my ‘Not-Released-Yet’ shelf on Goodreads and I’m most definitely ready for all of them!


Have you guys read any or all of these books? What were your thoughts on them? And do you ever find yourself not enjoying a book as much anymore but having no idea why? Let’s discuss in the comments below!


Follow Me On Social Media


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

12 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: Simon, Dimple And Monty

  1. Awesome reviews! The Gentlemen’s Guide and Simon VS are on my list and sound pretty amazing!

    Also, you live in Germany too? Liest du normaleweise auf Deutsch oder Englisch? Ich habe noch keine Audiobooks auf Englisch hier gefunden und kann leider nicht so gut Deutsch verstehen/lesen…

    Like

    1. Thank you, Naty! You should definitely read both of the books and I’d say start with Simon! It’s so much fun!

      Jap, wohne auch in Deutschland! Ich lese normalerweise zu 95% auf Englisch! Hab irgendwann mit den Tributen Von Panem angefangen und dann nicht wieder aufhört. Inzwischen kaufe ich auch gefühlt nur noch Englische Bücher und die Bücher, die ich noch auf Deutsch habe sind schon Jahre alt!

      Ich höre Audiobooks immer über Audible! Ich wohn eher ländlich und finde nicht einmal Englische Bücher, geschweige denn Audiobooks. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ja, du hast Recht, ich kann auch hier keine Englische Bücher finden und muss immer nach andere Städte gehen oder durch Amazon kaufen.

        Danke, ich suche nach Audible!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Out of these three books, the only one I’ve read is When Dimple Met Rishi which I absolutely adored. It was such a lovely, light read and I flew through it. Both Simon VS and The Gentleman’s Guide are books I really want to get to as soon as I can, I’ve heard so many good things about them. Also, I didn’t know there was a movie for Simon?!

    Like

    1. You should definitely get to Simon as soon as possible! It was so much fun to read and I pretty much flew through the audiobook in a single night!

      Yeah, I think they’ve been filming for quite a while now, actually (if I remember correctly)! I have no idea when it releases though, but I’m sure my Twitter timeline will keep me well informed! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read Simon Vs, plan to read Dimple eventually, and am actually reading Gentleman’s right now! Simon Vs I absolutely ADORED, and I am 100% sure that I will LOOOOOVE Gentleman’s Guide as well! I’ve been hearing some mixed reviews on Dimple, but I’m glad you liked it! Great reviews! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for sharing these reviews!
    I also listened to the audiobook for Simon Vs and LOVED it. I hadn’t realized there was a movie- will check that out 🙂
    Heard lots of things about Dimple and Rishi. Glad that you liked it and I am excited to read it. Though I am a bit nervous that it won’t live up to the hype haha..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed them! 🙂

      Yeah, that’s usually my fear going into really hyped books too! I don’t want to be disappointed. I hope you end up enjoying When Dimple Met Rishi whenever you get around to reading it!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. To answer your question about mini reviews vs one big review, I don’t mind reading either but I think if you’re posting a lot of reviews, it might just be easier to combine them in posts like this one! Great reviews btw. I have read all of these books – well technically I’m still reading The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue but it’s pretty good so far! Thank you for linking to those other books you added to your shelf because I just got to add some more books to my tbr haha. I’m terrible at keeping up with book releases.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time and answering my question, Rachana! It really means a lot!

      I think I might really do this more often with books that aren’t ARCs especially because this way I’ll actually work towards my goal of reviewing more books too. 😀 And I feel like mini reviews are a lot less stressful too!

      Haha, I’m so happy to hear that I was able to introduce you to some new books with this post! I am really looking forward to all of the books I mentioned so I’m glad you found them interesting too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

