Book Haul: July 2017

book haul

Usually, you guys would be seeing my monthly book haul in my wrap up posts, but since I read quite a lot of books this month and also bought a lot of books, my wrap up would’ve gotten way too long and I don’t think anyone really wants to read more than 3,000 words in one go so I split those posts up this month!

But I am super excited about all of the books I got this month (a good deal have been read/listened to already so my shelves aren’t being stocked with too many unread books which is always good!) and I can’t wait to read them all at some point this year. Or next year. Who knows when I’ll actually be able to get to some of them as there are also so many new releases coming out in the next few months that I am so excited about! And there are books I want to re-read too. Oh boy. I need more hours in the day!

But now, let’s stop rambling and get into all of the books I got this month! PS: Most of these are actually used books which my bank account was really happy about!

Books I Bought


now i riseNow I Rise by Kiersten White

I have talked about my love for Now I Rise so many times on the blog by now, that I’m sure you guys are tired of me talking about it. But, I did get this book at the very beginning of July and the fact that I bought it after having read it already should also tell you how much I loved this newest release in Kiersten White’s The Conqueror’s Saga and you guys should absolutely pick it up too. If you need some convincing, please check out these five reasons that’ll hopefully convince you to run to your nearest bookstore/library to get your hands on this great book!


simon vs the homo sapiens agendaSimon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Yes, I finally gave in and checked out Simon VS The Homo Sapiens Agenda and I couldn’t be more excited that I did because I absolutely loved this book and am now super excited for more of Becky’s books! I got this as an audiobook on Audible and pretty much stayed up all night to finish this book because I just had to know who Blue was (even though I was kind of spoiled) and the way they finally meet was just so sweet and I loved every second of it!


when dimple met rishiWhen Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

I really was on a bit of an audiobook high at the beginning of this month so after finishing Simon VS, I finally picked up When Dimple Met Rishi! If you are part of the book community in any kind of form you’ve probably been hearing about this book left and right and might even be a bit tired of hearing about it, but! I loved this book quite a lot, so you might actually stumble upon it on my blog a few more times in the future! This was such a lovely rom-com type of book that made me really happy and glad that I finally picked this up! Definitely worth the read!


boundlessBoundless by Cynthia Hand

I first read the Unearthly trilogy by Cynthia Hand a couple of years ago, but for some reason, I never picked up physical copies of the books even though I really enjoyed them? I also always wanted them in hardcover because the covers are so pretty and shiny and I wasn’t able to find them anywhere? But then I recently checked my go-to used books website and they had the final book, Boundless, in hardcover and great condition for under 3€. You can’t even imagine how quickly I clicked ‘Add to basket’! My goal is to collect the rest of the trilogy and hopefully re-read all the books after! This trilogy was the first time I read about angels and what got me to read Angelfall by Susan Ee so there’s definitely a bit of nostalgia connected to this trilogy too!


will grayson will graysonWill Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Another used book I bought this month and only the third John Green book I own: Will Grayson, Will Grayson! I’ve obviously heard about this book before and seen it pop up quite often, but I was never really interested in picking it up until I saw it for rather cheap when I placed my most recent order of used books. And this book was in great condition too and matches my copy of TFIOS in height which is a big plus too! I have no idea when I’m going to get to this book, but I like knowing that it’s on my shelves and that I can grab it whenever I feel like reading something else by John Green – I’ve seriously only read two of his books so far: TFIOS and Looking For Alaska. I need to change that!


extremely loud and incredibly closeExtremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

I kept seeing a different cover of this book pop up more recently and when I finally checked it out, I was really intrigued and so I added Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close to my basket too and even though I was hoping to get the other cover, I’m okay with this one too! As long as I get the book in the condition I ordered it in, I’m good. The cover isn’t that important in the end.

I haven’t read a single book that deals with the events of 9/11 so I have no real idea what to expect here, but I am definitely looking forward to reading this book and I know that Lia really enjoyed this one!


the night circusThe Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Around the release of Caraval so many people kept bringing up The Night Circus and talking about how the two books were similar, so I’ve definitely had this book on my radar for a while now. But then once more people had read Caraval people were saying how much better The Night Circus actually is, which had me even more curious. I did enjoy Caraval, but whenever I think back to it now, it has lost some of it appeal to me. I do want to read more stories with a circus atmosphere though (hopefully I’ll be able to read Daughter Of The Burning City soon, as it just released recently!!!) so I jumped at the opportunity to get this book used too! Can’t wait to get to this!


prodigyProdigy by Marie Lu

Up next, we have another book I have read already but don’t own a physical copy of yet: Prodigy by Marie Lu! I read this trilogy years ago too and really enjoyed it but only ever bought a physical copy of Legend and then couldn’t find copies of the other two books that would match Legend. But then I found Prodigy used and in the same edition as Legend, so I – again – jumped at the chance to buy this book! Who wouldn’t right? Gotta show my support for Marie Lu! At least for the books I’ve read and loved. Can you believe we have to wait a few more months for Warcross??? And apparently it’s really good and people keep fangirling over it and I’m just sitting here like ‘I want a copy too! I want to read it now!!!’. Soon, Swetlana. Soon.


strange the dreamer ukStrange The Dreamer by Laini Taylor

During Amazon’s PrimeDay they had a great deal for Audible, so I asked my sister if she would sign up with Audible with her account and I’d pay her the monthly fee back so I can take advantage of a great deal even though I don’t use prime (I only ever buy books from Amazon and there are no shipping fees for books) and Strange The Dreamer was the book I got for the first month! I’ve been meaning to read this book ever since it came out but hadn’t picked it up yet and since there is no way of me getting it for under 5€ this audiobook was the best deal ever! I can’t wait to listen to this beauty soon (probably on my way down to visit family next weekend) and find out what the hype is all about!


Oh boy… do you ever realize just how many books you actually bought once you start writing them all down for a monthly wrap up? Because I honestly forgot that some of the earlier books were bought in July too. I might have to take it a bit slow in August after this haul. The only book I’m allowed to buy is Wonder Woman: Warbringer and if you see me talking about getting any other books, please yell at me not to do it? Wait, I’m allowed to get one audiobook too, which comes with my subscription but nothing else. You guys need to hold me to it!


What are some of the books you guys got this past month? Did any of you go as over board as I did? Have you read any of these books? If so, which one should I start with because I have no idea. There’s too much to choose from. Help a girl out!


Follow Me On Social Media


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

18 thoughts on “Book Haul: July 2017

  1. I loved WDMR! You definitely need to read the night circus! Caraval doesn’t even come close to the masterpiece that the night circus is haha. I just finished Strange the Dreamer last night and really liked it! Hope you do too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I keep hearing too, so I am most definitely excited for The Night Circus! I am currently waiting for my physical copy of Strange The Dreamer to arrive and then I’ll probably jump right into it! I don’t think I should put it off any longer! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close is one of my all-time favourite books. I just love the story and especially the way it’s written. I have the cover that you added an image of and the book also has black and white images throughout it. I hope you enjoy it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy to hear this! I haven’t heard much about the book so getting someone’s positive feedback is awesome! I think I saw some images while quickly flipping through my copy too!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Strange the Dreamer is SO GOOD!! I loved Prodigy too, as well as Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda – they’re great books πŸ™‚ I really enjoyed Extremely Loud and Icredibly Close – though it didn’t match my expectations. I hope you enjoy When Dimple Met Rishi – I despised it πŸ˜› Great haul!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve already finished reading When Dimple Met Rishi and did actually really enjoy it! πŸ˜€ I can’t wait for my physical copy of Strange The Dreamer to arrive so I can hopefully start reading it soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. OOOOH PRODIGY ❀ I recently bought the entire Legend series as well because I wanted to own the books myself! I've been in a mood to reread them and I didn't want to get them from the library again so I decided to just buy them lol.

    And which editions do you have? I first ordered the books in paperback from a website for used books but I wasn't happy with the condition of the second book so I asked if I could return them and they just refunded me and told me to either throw away the books or give them away? So depending on which paperback edition you have, I could send you the last book if you still need it! πŸ™‚ I now bought the hardcovers so I have no use for the paperbacks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been in a mood to re-read them too, but at the same time I don’t want to do it because I’m afraid I won’t enjoy the trilogy as much anymore and that would just be really sad!

      Erm, let me check! I’ve got them both from Penguin – I can send you a picture on Twitter, if that helps. And that would be really awesome if it’s the same edition! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

