BookTube-A-Thon 2017: My Experience And Wrap Up

booktubeaton experience wrap upBookTube-A-Thon 2017 officially ended on Sunday night which also marked the end of my very first readathon ever! I was really excited to take part in this and experience a readathon for myself, but unfortunately, I wasn’t really in the biggest reading mood all week which definitely influenced my experience quite a bit, but I will talk a bit more about it in a second!

I want to start this post off by saying how much I loved watching others share their BookTube-A-Thon experiences in tweets and vlogs! I also quickly realized that the people that I do follow took this so much more serious than me? They were trying really hard to complete all the challenges and read as many books as possible. I was kind of hoping their enthusiasm would rub off on me and I would be motivated to read more too, but that didn’t really happen. But still, I’m really glad that I decided to join in and get my feet wet as far as readathons go and from what I have seen around the blogosphere, there are more happening in the future too.

Some of you may have seen me tweet about leaving for a weekend to visit family the weekend of the 21st this past month and I think that might have influenced my reading mood in the end quite a bit. We left on Friday around 1 PM and got back home on Sunday around 4 PM (I think) and the majority of that time was literally spent sitting in a car and I was tired as hell once I got back home. I think I slept a good deal of Monday and didn’t really start reading until late that day.

It took me almost the entire week to actually finish one of my books because I just couldn’t get into it for the longest time. Nothing really happened and I hate those kinds of books more than anything. And since I really wanted to avoid a reading slump from happening, I decided to just go for an audiobook instead and I absolutely flew through it! I think it took me less than a day to listen to it and I am really glad that I decided to start a second book because I’m pretty sure I would’ve just given up on reading any further otherwise! 

On Sunday, I finally finished the first book and then went straight into the next one, hoping to take some of that momentum and use it to finish another book – unfortunately, once I finished the first part of the book I took a break to make myself dinner and just couldn’t get back into reading after. But that’s fine! Because I still started reading another book and I really enjoyed what I had read up until that point!

Books I Read


the scorpio racesThe first challenge this year was to read a book with a person on the cover and I had decided to go with The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater which was the first book I started and the book I finished Sunday afternoon because it took me ages to actually get through it! I did really enjoy Maggie’s writing and the story overall was really great too, but it just took so long to get to the point? Which was definitely my biggest problem with this book. But, I am still very happy that I finally read this book. I ended up giving it a 3/5 star rating! 

The second challenge this year was to read a hyped book – I hadn’t chosen a particular book for this challenge when I did to all the boys ive loved beforemy TBR and I didn’t think I would complete this challenge (though I feel like The Scorpio Races would fit this challenge too, actually) but then I realized that I needed to read something light and fluffy because I wasn’t enjoying my current read so I decided to go for the audiobook of To All The Boy I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han which I completed in about a day, I think. This is definitely a hyped book too, especially with the release of the most recent book in this trilogy! And since we’ve been getting casting news for the movie these past few weeks, the book has definitely been talked about a lot! I really loved the audiobook and ended up giving this a 3.5/5 star rating!

down among the sticks and bonesChallenge number three was to read a book in a day and I had chosen to go with Down Among The Sticks And Bones by Seanan McGuire for this one. After I finally finished The Scorpio Races I had actually planned on continuing with this book and read it for the remainder of the day – and finish it. Which would’ve definitely been possible as it was still early in the afternoon. But I had to make dinner in the middle of reading it and I wasn’t feeling like reading anymore after. But I still read about 30% of the book which I really happy with and definitely counting towards my total for the week!

I won’t talk about any of the other challenges as I didn’t complete them, but if you’re interested in them you should check out my post I made earlier this month! Maybe you’re looking for little reading challenges to set yourself for the upcoming month. 🙂


Originally, I had planned on keeping track of the amount of hours I would be reading through out the week but then I kind of forgot all about it when I picked TSR back up again on Sunday or when I was reading DATSAB which sucked a little bit. But I had read a total of 10.5 hours before that, which I’m really happy with. Something I did realize this week is that I apparently am a rather slow reader? The first time I tracked my time, it had taken me a total of 47 minutes to read 38 pages! I had no idea I read this slowly.

Overall, I read 2.33 books, about 800 pages and read for more than 10.5 hours! I would say that is an acceptable amount for my first ever readathon especially since I didn’t feel like reading a majority of the time!


Did any of you guys participate in this year’s BookTube-A-Thon? If so, how did you do? Are you happy with what you’ve read? Let’s talk in the comments below!


Follow Me On Social Media


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “BookTube-A-Thon 2017: My Experience And Wrap Up

  1. I considered participating this year but declined because I’m just coming out of a reading slump and I didn’t want to force myself to read. Also the last readathon that I participated in made me want to read less because of pressure, I had been doing great until then, and I ended up only reading part of one book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

