TBR Spotlight: 7 Authors I Want To Read

tbr spotlight 7 authors

Originally, today’s post was just going to be me talking about a bunch of authors I want to read but then I remembered that I started this little series on the blog where I spotlight certain aspects of my TBR – I did 8 books featuring POCs last month, if you missed it – and decided to include today’s post in that series! I mean, it goes perfectly with what I want to do and gives me yet another chance to look at my TBR and make sure that there are only books on it that I am still interested in reading especially since some books have been on there for years. Ooops! But let’s not get too rambly and instead start this post!

Pierce Brown


1

Up first we have the very handsome and funny Pierce Brown! I know for a fact that I have talked about wanting to start reading Pierce Brown books on the blog before, but it’s been a while and I need to remind myself that he is actually on my TBR and that Red Rising keeps staring at me because I continue to pick other books over it and that’s just not nice. And I am sorry, okay? I really am. I think I am going to make it my plan to read his Red Rising trilogy in time for the release of Iron Gold – which is a companion novel if I remember correctly. People are losing it over that release and I’m just sitting here with some serious FOMO (aka fear of missing out)! Soon, Pierce. Soon.

Laini Taylor


2

Next, we have Laini Taylor who I don’t really know anything about other than the fact that people really love her writing and that I haven’t read a single book by her yet. But! I actually own a Laini Taylor book now so I can read something of her’s – the question is just when? I don’t know if it’s smart to start with the author’s most recent work and then work backward, but it’s what I’m going to do because I really, really want to read Strange The Dreamer already (or listen to the audiobook while reading along)!

Tahereh Mafi


3

I feel like Jackie might be really excited to read that Tahereh Mafi is on my author TBR as she is the author of Jackie’s favorite series and Jackie keeps fangirling about it! I mean, I’ve read some of Tahereh’s work before (Shatter Me and Destroy Me) but I didn’t enjoy it too much back then. I am willing to give the series another chance though. But then again, Tahereh’s also has books outside of the Shatter Me series released, so I might just go for those instead – we’ll see! But I definitely want to read more of her work and find out if present day me enjoys her writing more!

Adam Silvera


4

It seems like everyone in the book community continues to rave about Adam, his writing and his books and I’m still sitting over here not having read a single one of his books! And the guy is releasing a new novel next month too – his second this year! And apparently, Adam loves to rip out people’s heart and stomp all over them? Sounds like a fun time for sure! Is there a point in time when it’s a good idea to read his books? Should I be really happy before so I don’t get too sad after I finish his books? Or should I be a bit sad already to feel the full force of his writing? Any suggestions?

Libba Bray


6

To be honest with you guys, the main reason why Libba Bray is on this list is her The Diviners series and it’s insanely pretty covers. I know that Libba has written so many more books, but I am mainly just interested in the Diviners series. But those books are huge. And while I’ve read big books, I am somewhat intimidated by the size of them! Do big books by an author on your TBR ever make you not want to read their work? Or do big books not intimidate you?

Renee Ahdieh


7

Up next, we have Renee Ahdieh! I feel like both her The Wrath And The Dawn Duology, as well as Flame In The Mist, are pretty liked books (the former maybe a bit more) and people tend to praise Renee’s writing quite often which has me curious for sure! And since I do want to read more diverse this year and read books set in places other than the US I feel like Renee’s books are exactly what I need! But at the same time, I keep putting it off to actually buy any of her books because I’m worried I won’t enjoy them? And what am I gonna do then??? How do you guys deal with that? Do you just buy the book and hope for the best? Or do you borrow the book from the library and buy it after if you really enjoyed it?

Amanda Foody


5

Amanda is definitely the most recent author on my TBR and I am so excited to hopefully read her debut novel soon! I keep hearing nothing but good things about it and Amanda really went at it and promoted her book and got me really excited for it! I just need to wait until the UK paperback is released because that’s the cover I want to own! It’s so pretty. Just one more month! I’m sure I can do it! Amanda is actually one of the few authors I follow on Twitter and interact with often which also kind of cements her place on this list! Whenever I think an author is great, I want to make sure I read their books too.


How about you?


Do you guys have any authors on your TBRs? Who is your #1 priority to read? Have you read any of these authors before (I’m sure you have as they are rather popular) and which one should I get to first? Let’s discuss in the comments below! I’m looking forward to it!


Follow Me On Social Media


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

21 thoughts on “TBR Spotlight: 7 Authors I Want To Read

  1. I own History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera and I’m very excited to read it… Yet I’m also very scared because everyone says his books are so sad (like you mentioned). I’m scared it will make me too emotional…or even worse it won’t affect me at all and I’ll end up feeling like a rock.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That feels like the worst case scenario with this book or his books in general! I tried listening to the audiobook but I just don’t like the narrator which sucks! I hope we do end up enjoying it to some degree whenever we finally get to it! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. VE Schwab is another author on my TBR too, but I’ve read her Shades Of Magic trilogy earlier this year and loved it, so I didn’t want to include her. And YES to Leigh! I am so excited for Wonder Woman!!!

      Like

  2. YES YES YES JACKIE IS VERY HAPPY AND EXCITED THAT TAHEREH IS ON THIS LIST!!!!!! It’s cool if you don’t like the Shatter Me books (although you should TOTALLY give them another try bc #amazing) but let me know what you think of Furthermore if you ever get around to it! I’ve been meaning to read it for SO LONG but I don’t own it yet!! I wanna buy the hardcover because it’s a GORGEOUS book but I’m too poor right now XD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, I knew you would be happy to see that! I’m hoping to get to Furthermore before Whichwood releases! I’ll probably listen to the audiobook and then buy a physical copy if I end up enjoying the book because I agree, it is freaking STUNNING.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That is so exciting to hear! I love whenever people tell me that they really loved an author I haven’t read yet, makes me much more excited to get to them! πŸ˜€

      Like

    1. I’m really happy to hear that you loved both Tahereh Mafi and Libba Bray! Gets me more excited to read their books too!

      I hope you’ll enjoy the other authors works!

      Like

    1. Oh no! I’m pretty sure I’ve seen others talk about liking MHTN more too, so that’s interesting! I’m curious to see how I’ll end up feeling about his books when I finally get to them!

      Pierce is basically on this list because I really like him as a person (from what I’ve seen from interviews and panels) and I figure it’s about damn time I see what he’s like as an author! I have high hopes. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Libba Bray Libba Bray Libba Braaaay! She’s my all-time favorite author. The Diviners books might seem intimidating, but they’re super atmospheric and they suck you in immediately. (Also, if you’re into audiobooks, the audiobooks for that series are FANTASTIC. Like, some of the best I’ve ever listened to.) I love both Laini Taylor’s and Tahereh Mafi’s writing, too! And, of course, Adam Silvera’s books are always beautiful and emotional.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, that sounds so awesome! I’ve actually really gotten into audiobooks these past few months, so I might just have to check The Diviners out on audiobook! Thank you for the suggestion to do that!

      Like

  4. All of these are authors I want to read too, haha. I’ve read Libba Bray (I read Beauty Queens awhile ago) and wasn’t the biggest fan but I want to read The Diviners and her Gemma Doyle series for sure. Those seem like books I’d enjoy more. But, like you, I’m intimidated by how long The Diviners books are. I swear I’ll get to them one day, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Like, you’d think I’ve never read a big book before with how intimidated I am, but I have! And I love them usually! Let’s hope we’ll enjoy them whenever we eventually get to them! Apparently, the audiobook for that series is really great so I might try going down that route! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post Swetlana!
    I’m going to have to say I loooooooved “Red Rising” so so much and just need to get my hands on “Golden Son” now in order to binge the rest of the trilogy! It’s so good and I’d love to see what you think of it as well!
    I also really love Laini Taylor’s books (haven’t read Strange the Dreamer yet though!) she has such beautiful writing and I also recommend checking out her “Lips Touch: Three Times” book as well.
    I also have to sing the praises of Renee Ahdieh because I mean “The Wrath & The Dawn” duology was also amazing! I’d love to see what you think of any of her books though too! Her writing is amazing!
    I also am dying to read Tahereh Mafi (mostly Furthermore), Adam Silvera (any of them!), Libba Bray (Beauty Queens and The Diviners), and Amanda Foody as well! As for one that you didn’t list that I desperately need to read I’d have to go with Brandon Sanderson! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Heather! πŸ˜€

      I feel like I haven’t heard a single negative thing about Red Rising – anything I hear is always positive! So I’ve got high hopes. I really want to get to it soon and review the series once I’ve read it!

      I haven’t even heard of those books by Laini yet, so thank you for recommending them to me! I keep hearing nothing but praise for Laini’s writing too, so I am definitely excited!

      I can’t believe I didn’t include Brandon Sanderson! It seems like his Mistborn trilogy is a must for any fantasy fan out there so he’s definitely on my list as well! God knows when I’ll get to him though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

