Books I’ll Probably Never Read

tag books i'll never eadBefore I get into today’s post, I wanted to take a quick moment and thank you guys all for your comments on my previous post! I truly appreciated reading your positive feedback and encouraging words. It meant a lot!

And since I’m still in a rather weird head space about writing posts, I figured today would be the perfect opportunity to do a tag on here! I haven’t done one in ages and I have to admit, I kind of miss it! The lovely Nikki over at The Night Is Dark And Full Of Books tagged me to talk a bit about books I’m probably never going to read, so that’s what we’re doing today!

A Really Hyped Book You’re Not Interested In Reading

12578077

Honestly, the only books I could think of for this are Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Lux series. I will usually give hyped books a chance and see what I think of them myself before saying no to a series or book. I checked popular Young Adult book lists and I have read so many of the books on there? I just really love Young Adult books and I usually won’t pass on an opportunity to read them!

A series you won’t start/won’t be finishing

red queen

I do have quite a few series that I’m currently in the middle of reading and while I know for a fact that I will finish some of them, I am also not sure about others. Some of them have been completed in the mean time and while other’s are still on going but I didn’t feel excited to read their newest release, so I think I’ll be dropping them from my TBR soon. One of them is probably going to be Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen series! I might go back to it one day, but for right now I don’t see myself reading it.

A classic you’re just not interested in

Pride-and-Prejudice_BN

At this point, I honestly don’t see myself picking up a classic anytime soon. I have read some of them in my years in school and I even own a copy of Pride And Prejudice because I thought I wanted to read it, but it’s been years since I got it and I still haven’t read it. I doubt it’s going to happen.

A genre you never read

Hmm, I think a genre I haven’t reached for so far is both thrillers and anything horror or mystery related! I’m definitely someone who is very easily scared and doesn’t like anything that might scare me.

A book on your shelves you’ll probably never read

the girl at midnight

I honestly have quite a few (maybe too many?) unread books on my shelves at the moment and I should definitely get to them soon… but if I have to look at all of them and pick out a book I might not actually read? Probably The Girl At Midnight by Melissa Grey. I’ve had it for so long and I’ve just never felt like picking it up since? Which sucks, because I don’t like the idea of leaving a book unread on my shelves.


How About You?


Are there any books on your TBR that you know you might not ever actually read? Do you find it painful to think about the books that will go unread on your shelves? Let’s discuss in the comments and please feel free to answer any and all of tag questions down below too!


Follow Me On Social Media


Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

17 thoughts on “Books I’ll Probably Never Read

  1. I read Red Queen when it came out and just didn’t care for it at all. I also won’t read the rest of the series, plus I haven’t heard much positive things about the rest of the series anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read Red Queen and the other 2 books that have came out since and honestly I’m not sure why. I thought Red Queen was decent. I didn’t like the second one much and then the third one I could barely pay attention. It’s such a shame because I really love the covers but yeah I won’t be finishing. Not missing much.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ve definitely seen quite a few people really love these books around booktube I think but I feel like I might be too old to fully appreciate the books now. But I’m happy to hear that you absolutely love the series! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. If you don’t want to read Pride and Prejudice but would like to give Jane Austen a try then I would recommend Northanger Abbey! It’s really short and a great parody of gothic fiction. One book on my shelf that I probably won’t read is The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson – I think the time has passed for me to read any of her books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah, you’re definitely not missing out with Red Queen. I read it a few years back and forgot what happened by the next day. Classics are always daunting to me too but I do own Pride and Prejudice so I should probably read it at some stage.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right? I felt pretty much the same way about Red Queen! I don’t even know what happened in Glass Sword and I read that not too long ago – might’ve been around the time it came out. And if a story doesn’t even leave a lasting impression of some sort, it’s definitely not worth investing more time into!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel so bad but there were quite a few on my TBR list recently that I just cut off even though I’ve already bought them. It’s because I know I don’t really want to read them and there are so many I really want to read. There are also a bunch of first books in series that I have no motivation to continue with – Red Queen is definitely one of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hate when that happens, but luckily so far the books I’ve actually gotten are all going to be read eventually. I would’ve probably continued on with series if I’ve read the first book – I can’t seem to abandon series once I start them. xD

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I tried to read Pride and Prejudice when I was in school but I stopped reading it about a quarter of the way through because I was so bored by it 😅 I do like some classics but most of them don’t really do anything special for me unless it’s a genre that I already like. As for a genre I won’t read, I more than likely won’t read erotic fiction. I have nothing against it, it’s just really not for me 😳

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

